What Makes You Laugh?

Contributor post by Sheila from BeadyEyedBird

One of the reasons I love selling online is that I can react privately and with time to calibrate when someone asks a wacky question. Customers can say and do very funny things! We asked our teamies to share some things that make them laugh when it comes to their business, and here’s what they said…

Stock Lane Studio from StockLaneStudio says

 I agree, Sheila, I, too have had a few laughs here and there with a some of the questions asked in conversations here on Etsy. Especially when making personalized signs and cards for customers – some of them really have a sense of humor.

Spring and Easter are coming up and that reminds me of parties at my mother’s house. She would plan the best Easter Egg hunts!! One Easter Sunday was nice and warm, and right in the middle of the hunt, it just poured. My daughter and her cousins ran in the bathroom, brought out the shampoo and proceeded to have a ‘rain shower’. The rest of us had a great time laughing about that (under cover of course!!). But when I am sad and miss my mother who has now passed on, I remind myself to breathe deeply and relax and think of all the fun times we have had while we could.

breathe

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Sheila from BeadyEyedBird says:

This is a funny story from a jewelry biz colleague — originally posted in a blog post on ‘The Customer Isn’t Always Right’

www.thebead.net/index.php/the-bead-blog/311-the-customer-isn-t-alwa…

“Looks Real Good, Hurts Real Bad” (from a jewelry store in Puerto Rico)

I had a bag of large crystal beads salvaged from a chandelier. The beads were the size of my palm and very heavy. As I put them away in one of my bead boxes, a teenage girl walked up to my booth at a craft fair.

Girl: “Hi! I love your stuff! Do you do custom orders?”

Me: “Yes, I do! Here, look through some of these bead boxes and tell me what you like.”

Girl: “Okay!”
(She looks though some boxes and gasps as she discovers the large crystal beads.)

Girl: “I love these! Can you make a pair of earrings with these?!”

Me: “Oh! Ha ha, those beads are for a lamp I’m making. They’re too heavy to use as earrings. May I interest you in a much smaller and lighter version of those beads?”

Girl: “NO! I want these! They’re so pretty and…bling-bling!”

Me: “Your piercings would sag if you wore those. Let me–”

Girl: “No! I’m the customer and this is what I want!”

Me: *sighing* “Fine. Come back in a few minutes, and I’ll have them done. It’ll be $12.”

(The girl looks at some other booths while I make her earrings. She returns, asks for her earrings, and pays for them.)

Girl: (putting on earrings) “I love them! Thank you so much!”

Me: “Okay. Thank you, and remember what I said about the beads.”

Girl: “You don’t know what you’re talking about. The beads are like crazy light!”
(The girl leaves, looking ridiculous with the earrings, but then returns about half an hour later.)

Girl: “My ears are killing me!”

Me: “I told you the beads were too heavy, but you still wanted them!”

Girl: “It’s not the beads, it’s the wire! I must be allergic to it.”

Me: “There’s no need to yell. I use hypoallergenic materials in all my pieces. There’s no way you can be allergic to it. It’s because the beads are too heavy. I can give you a refund, but you have to give me the earrings back.”

Girl: “No! It must be the glass, then. I’m allergic to the glass! What kind of glass is this?”

Me: “…allergic to glass? Have you ever heard of the phrase ‘with beauty comes pain’? Well, this explains it.”

Girl: “Oh! I get it now! Wow, if it hurts this much I must look A-MA-ZING! [and she skipped happily away]

earrings

Until Next Time,

Sheila

 

One thought on “What Makes You Laugh?

Leave a Reply

