Member Feature: Angel Petals

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Please join us in welcoming Kristen of AngelPetals, our featured member!

AngelPetals

AngelPetals

Tell us about yourself.     

I am a mother of four. I have always loved the unique and one of a kind. I believe you can take anything and turn it into something awesome. The uses are only limited to your imagination.

My mom had me crafting and creating things since I was a little girl. You could say that creativity is in my blood. I also, have been a cake decorator for the past 15 years. Something I have learned is there is always room to learn more.

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I have been making hair accessories and jewelry for the past nine years. I could never find anything I really liked so, I would end up making my own jewelry and hair accessories. I would always go into work with some new flower or feather hair piece or a unique vintage style jewelry accessory. People would always compliment how unique and gorgeous they were. I decided to open Angel Petals on Etsy to share my love of the unique pieces with others. In the past few years my business has grown and expanded on the items I make.AngelPetals1

Tell us a bit about your products.

Accessories for females of ALL AGES! The hair accessories range from ribbon sculptures, flowers, feathers, bridal pieces and special occasions.  One particular flower you will note is my signature flower in my shop. The kanzashi flower is a handmade fabric flower. Tsumami Kanzashi is a technique of folding fabric (in Japan and the traditional way is with silk) to form petals that will form the flowers. You can make them anywhere from small to a small bouquet of flowers. I fell in love with they way these look.

I love the Steampunk, Vintage, Neo Victorian style look. I incorporate that in my hair accessories and jewelry. One of my favorite pieces I made was an Owl out of gears, clock hands and other parts I found.AngelPetals2

What inspires your work?

It seems like everything can inspire you from the laughs of your beautiful children to the way the wind makes the trees billow.AngelPetals3

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business? 

My goals for this year is to continue to grow and learn. My dream would be to one day open a shop in my area as well as sell online.

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

I hand make all my items with care and love. I pay attention to detail and try to always go above expectations. I offer a wide range of color schemes and options. I love taking special orders.AngelPetals4

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

Do not give up…. It takes time and dedication. Keep trying new things until you get to where you want to be for your business.

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?

I enjoy family time. Parks, games road trips. My hobby would be reading. I love to read!

What is your favorite quote?

Start by doing what’s necessary
then do what’s possible
and suddenly you are doing the impossible

Francis of Assisi

Where can people find out more about your business?

Facebook: www.facebook.com/secretangelpetals

Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/angelpetals

Etsy: www.etsy.com/angelpetalsAngelPetals5

________

If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

Leave a Reply

