Member Feature: Timetalentjewels

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Please join us in welcoming Karen of Timetalentjewels, our featured member!

timetalentjewels

timetalentjewels

Tell us about yourself.  

My name is Karen Hafel, Springfield, Illinois, married to Tom, two grown daughters and now we have a grandson Raymond Matthew.  Over the years I have done a variety of crafts but have thoroughly enjoyed knitting and crocheting the most.  Just give me a good piece of yarn and I am in heaven!  When I opened the shop in 2012 I originally sold Kumihimo Bracelets (The art of Japanese Braiding and Beading).  But since then those have been phased out and I have moved onto Wire Crochet Necklace Sets and Regular Strung Bead Necklaces.  I am fascinated by the awesome collection of gemstones that I find for these pieces.  My other fascination is Colorful Knitting especially in Wool Felted Hot Pads and also Wool Felted Clutch Handbags

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I originally opened my business on July 8, 2012 and the most fascinating part of this journey of learning about ETSY was through a friend having coffee at Panera one day.  She really thought I would do well on ETSY.  She thought I had beautiful items to promote and share with others.  She thought my gift of color choices were unbelievable and that I would do well, and so here I am!timetalentjewels1

Tell us a bit about your products.

My necklaces are one of a kind.  No two alike!  I have Wire Crochet Necklace Sets and the regular strung necklaces.  I have bracelets but eventually will be weeding them out.  There are very colorful Wool Felted Hot Pads.  Future work to come again will be the Wool Felted Clutch Handbag (it is not listed yet).

What inspires your work?

When knitting I love color! I am happy when I am knitting. As you can see most of my shop is made up of happy colors. I find it very hard to make something dull apparently it is not me. You just have to have it POP to make it special!

That goes with my Wire Crochet Necklace Sets as well, they two are one of a kind, no two alike. Looking for the right gemstones is a must! Creating, choosing the right colors, it just fascinates me, I love it!timetalentjewels2

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business? 

I have to keep working right along as I have these past years.  I would love to see the business grow however I promote everyday, sometimes you just have to wait for the special person to come along to purchase one or more of your items.  It is a hobby, maybe one day it will grow to be a business.

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

I have a special gift to share, my gift of color, the colors I put together, some have it, others don’t.timetalentjewels3

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

I have a separate little space in my basement, which consists of a table and then I have bead compartments and supplies for whenever I need them.  I do all my photography down there.  I set up my lighting and everything too.

My knitting is usually done upstairs in the family room.  I like to do it at night while watching/listening to television.  I usually get a lot done then.

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

How to take good pictures!timetalentjewels4

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

If you are thinking of selling on ETSY, it is a lot of fun, but it is a lot of work, not only creating your pieces but you must promote your work, join the teams and if you join the teams do the work that you signed up for.  Make the treasuries, promote your work and others, then you are helping others and they are helping you.  A sign of reciprocation.  The more you put in to it, the more you will get out of it!  It is a lot of fun and you meet a lot of nice people.

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?

I enjoy walking, baking, cooking, gardening and especially getting to watch our little grandson. I love new country music and dancing and especially we like to travel down to visit our two daughters.timetalentjewels5

What is your favorite quote?

Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.

Where can people find out more about your business?

Etsy: https://www.etsy.com/shop/timetalentjewels
Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/tkleh4853
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/hafel.karen
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/hafel

Is there anything else you’d like to share?

Stop by the shop www.etsy.com/shop/timetalentjewels – I don’t think you will be disappointed!

________

If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

Leave a Reply

