Tools of the Craft: Supply Shops for Crafters and Artisans

Contributor post by Sheila from BeadyEyedBird

I’ve seen a poster on Facebook about handcrafting– and I really appreciate it. It says: When you buy handmade, you not only get art, you get a piece of the artist’s heart. There are so many reasons to buy handmade instead of buying a store-bought or manufactured item. You support crafters and artisans, which is critical; you get high-quality items built to last; your item is one-of-a-kind and really special; you support the environment by choosing something not made in a waste-producing factory; and maybe best of all, you avoid crowded stores!

This post is a special shout-out for our wonderful Etsy Supply Shops — as they provide the tools, inspiration and opportunity for so many handcrafters. Read about what they offer and how they support the spirit of ‘artisan-made’, entrepreneurship and the creative life-style.

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

angie from ThrowItForward says:

I love what you have written here…it’s like you read my thoughts! The way you describe art as well as the environment, I feel so equally the same

I have a shop section for creative/repurpose supply and it is difficult to choose one item. Even though I don’t have the bulk of my inventory listed, I have a few repurposed supplies, so I will choose the scrap metal listing.

It is an example of how an artist can create something extremely unique which could be in the form of a robot sculpture, a mixed media piece, or an assemblage piece.

This listing is also an example of how items once designated for the landfill can now be used for creative projects

24 Pieces of Scrap Metal for Repurpose Projects. One LB 11 OZ of Scrap for Repurpose and Art Projects such as Robots and Altered Artwork. $10.00 USD

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Arlene from ThisandThatCrafter says:

I sell lots of ribbons that can be used in your crafting adventures. From stringing a banner to decorating a jar. Here is one of my many ribbon listings….

https://www.etsy.com/listing/190515933/pink-ribbon38-x-10yards?ref=teams_post

Pink Ribbon…3/8″ X 10yards
$4.00 USD

And here is the 1/4″ width of the same ribbon used in one of my creations.

http://www.facebook.com/ThisandThatCrafter/posts/97027523054080

I have lots of colors of this ribbon and it is very useful in crafting. I also have many other ribbons for your crafting needs.

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Anastasia Gumirova from easypatchwork says:

In Russia I sewed quilts from old clothing before. I also sewed a quilt as a gift to my son from the clothes my grandmother, my mother and my clothes. It preserves the memory of three generations of women our family. This is my favorite and the most beautiful quilt!
The mural "a Walk with nanny past the flower shop" $35.00 USD

The mural “a Walk with nanny past the flower shop”
$35.00 USD

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Catherine Clifford from DesignsByCnC says:

 I offer a large selection of rubber stamps. What I like most about rubber stamps are their versatility. They can be used in many different applications such as paper crafting, fabric stamping, jewelry, clay and pottery as well as fondant stamping for decorative cakes and cookies.
Valentine Heart Stamps, Stampin' Up Rubber Stamps, Much Love Set, Greeting Card Stamps, Wedding Favor Stamps, Gifts For Her, New Stamp Set $18.00 USD

Valentine Heart Stamps, Stampin’ Up Rubber Stamps, Much Love Set, Greeting Card Stamps, Wedding Favor Stamps, Gifts For Her, New Stamp Set
$18.00 USD

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Kelly from ColourscapeStudios says:

I offer a large range of gift tags which look fantastic on items being sent out as a seller, including these thank you tags which I use on my own goodies  I can custom tags to change colours, fonts and even personalize them with your logo.
Thank You Circle Gift Tag, Wedding Favor Tag, Round Kraft Gift Tag, 2 inch gift tag, Pack of 10, 20, 50, 100 or custom sized pack available $4.58+ USD

Thank You Circle Gift Tag, Wedding Favor Tag, Round Kraft Gift Tag, 2 inch gift tag, Pack of 10, 20, 50, 100 or custom sized pack available
$4.58+ USD

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Dawn Whitehand from DeeDeeDeesigns says:

 One of the best-selling products in my store is handmade ceramic buttons.

These buttons are ideal for sewing, crocheters and all round crafty people in general. They are great for dressing up scarves, bags, hats and gloves. I can even custom make a shape and design especially for you

Handmade Ceramic Buttons Cream Stripe Rib Texture Set of Four Square Pottery Buttons Sewing Crochet Knitting $9.72 USD

Handmade Ceramic Buttons Cream Stripe Rib Texture Set of Four Square Pottery Buttons Sewing Crochet Knitting
$9.72 US

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Stock Lane Studio from StockLaneStudio says:

I used to live in France, so I have acquired a few French-English dictionaries over the years. This is from a vintage find – the library was getting rid of it!! Let’s put it to good use. The illustrations are delightful and would be great for mixed-media collage or scrapbooking and card making.
French vintage Dictionary pages, 40 paper book sheets with illustrations, 5.25 x 7.5 eco-friendly arts craft supplies paper ephemera $3.50+ USD

French vintage Dictionary pages, 40 paper book sheets with illustrations, 5.25 x 7.5 eco-friendly arts craft supplies paper ephemera
$3.50+ USD

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Ingrida from feltinga says:

My passion is felting. To help me do it, my husband handmade me a special wooden tool. It really helps me a lot so, we decided to make it available for other felters too:
SALE Wet felting tool for slippers shoes boots wooden supply craft projects shoemaking oak alder device equipment washboard $9.00 USD

SALE Wet felting tool for slippers shoes boots wooden supply craft projects shoemaking oak alder device equipment washboard
$9.00 USD

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Sherri from ButterflyFeetDigital says

 I make and sell digital supplies for scrapbooking, card making – any paper crafting. My items are my own designs. I think people who use the digital papers can appreciate being able to download and print from home, and can imagine them in their own personal projects.
Digital Paper Pack in Yellow Green and Brown, Instant Download, 14 Printable Papers, 12 by 12 inch, 300 dpi jpg $2.50 USD

Digital Paper Pack in Yellow Green and Brown, Instant Download, 14 Printable Papers, 12 by 12 inch, 300 dpi jpg
$2.50 USD

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Shar from SharPharMade says:

I sell Vintage Patterns, mostly, all, recycled; and other recycled craft tool items, like Rubber Stamps. What’s so great about Vintage Patterns is that you can make almost anything … clothing, toys, pet accessories (clothes, toys, etc.), baby clothing and accessories, craft items, etc.; just too many things to list. Rubber Stamps can, even, be stamped on whatever you make with Vintage Patterns, for a more interesting, or attractive look.
pattern

Sleeveless Drop Waist Dress – Size 12 B30 – CUT Anne Adams Pattern 4827 $25.98 USD

Ingrida from LivePastVintage says:

Lot of multicolored sewing threads – fantastic find for those who are in friendship with needle!!! Perfect money-saving choice or maybe your craft-room decor!
SALE 45 Huge lot cotton Yarn spool supply sewing thread Soviet Vintage Retro USSR Russian 1980s set lot bulk white black blue orange green $22.50 USD

SALE 45 Huge lot cotton Yarn spool supply sewing thread Soviet Vintage Retro USSR Russian 1980s set lot bulk white black blue orange green
$22.50 USD

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

MANY THANKS to all who contributed — it was a great turnout!

Until Next Time,

Sheila

Leave a Reply

