Member Feature: Bijoux Chantale Gelinas

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Please join us in welcoming Chantale of Bijoux Chantale Gelinas, our featured member!

BijouChantaleGelinas

BijouChantaleGelinas

Tell us about yourself.

Hi my name is Chantale, I’m a high school history teacher. I love teaching history to the teen there is so much to learn. I’m a mother of 4 amazing children from 5 to 9 years old, love vintage and antique store.

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I started making my own jewelry when I give birth to my daughter 9 years ago. I want it to created something modern and vintage in the same time. Soon I realized that people around me was asking me where I got this beautiful necklace and bracelet. So I decided to created my own line of contemporary jewelry and make it a business.BijouChantaleGelinas1

Tell us a bit about your products.

All my jewelry is stainless steel chain and pewter. So they don’t ever tarnish. I use high quality of glass beads, pewter and epoxy. All my pieces with epoxy are designed by me to be as unique as my customers. Everything is handmade by me and sometime like in Christmas time I have 2 good friends who help me with my Christmas show.

What inspires your work? 

I love vintage and wanted to created something modern but including a vintage look. So I came up with these contemporary jewelry.BijouChantaleGelinas2

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business? 

I would like to make it as a full-time job. I’m on the right track to achieve this goal but still missing a couple of things.

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

Because my pieces are designed by me so my pieces are unique so as the hand painted color inside all the pieces.BijouChantaleGelinas3

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

My work space is my whole house beside the bedrooms. I do the epoxy in my garage and build all the jewelry on my kitchen table wich some time there so many beads on it and can’t really clean it before supper time because I have to finish. I send my kids to eat on the living room table. Don’t worry it’s happen just a couple of times a year usually I manage to finish before we eat.

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

More you want something you have to do what ever it take to conquer this goal and never give up. No matter what the mistake are you have to learn from it and continue. Which sometime it’s not easy to do but I have too.BijouChantaleGelinas4

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

Just do it takes time but everything is worth it. With a lot of work and research everyone can do it.

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?

Go out with my family have some fun with my kids.BijouChantaleGelinas5

 ________

If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

Leave a Reply

