Member Feature: Chinook Design

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Please join us in welcoming Eva of Chinook Design, our featured member!

Customquiltsbyeva

Customquiltsbyeva

Tell us about yourself.

My passion is making customized interior decor and nursery textiles. Blankets, wall-hangings, pillows, throw-pillows, curtains, baby beddings, playmats, everything made for the customers, for them special needs. they could choose hundreds of different colors of textiles. Also can be done any motives, theme of the applications, what they like the best.

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I started to do my quilts and patchwork bedding sets about 10 years ago. Absolutely love to do. It’s something, what you can do day by day without doing the same job every day. It’s an amazing craft, and I feel lucky, because every day a new challenge, thanks to my lovely customers. The best part of it, when they give me a positive feedback, and order some more pieces to complete the design of their home. It’s a trust-based relationship between the client and me. Sometimes can be challenging, but the outcome always brilliant. My customers are so creative, never do the same piece.Customquiltsbyeva1

Tell us a bit about your products.

I’m making customized interior decor and nursery textiles. Blankets, wall-hangings, pillows, throw-pillows, curtains, baby beddings, playmats, everything made for the customers, for their special needs. they could choose hundreds of different colors of textiles. Also can be done any motives, theme of the applications, what they like the best.

What inspires your work? 

Inspiration? Coming from nature, from my childhood, with all the dreams, and hopes, what we all had. From the fairy tales, what granny was reading beside the bed. It’s an endless material, I can work with.
Especially like to do nursery bedding sets. Our little babies are so special. As a Mom of three, I know, it is very important to make their living space nice, comfortable and safe and giving them a nice visual experience from the first day with all the different colors and shapes.Customquiltsbyeva2

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business? 

Thankfully I have a well-recognized branded shop with Etsy, I’ll keep working on it this year and next year as well. Try to come up with new products, new ideas time to time, to having a wider range to offer to the returning customers as well.

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

I would definitely say, that customizing the product is my strongest point, also I have a good stock of fabrics to choose from, and practically everything is possible.Customquiltsbyeva3

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

I have a lovely work space to create my quilts day by day. I think it is important to be in a nice and clean environment your own space, so you can organize your work better. It is essential to have  your separate studio for quality work.

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

The business part of it always a big challenge. To make my shop more visible online, make easy access to place an order. It is a full-time job. Over the years I’m much better create sides, use the internet, the latest techniques, the tips, what we share online with the Etsy Team. It is like a big family, support each other side by side.Customquiltsbyeva4

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

If you only started on Etsy, concentrate to create a brand. Your very own brand, look, design, which is recognizable for the public. Try to build up a nice stock of your product. Be creative, use quality materials, focus on quality, not quantity! Make sure you have time for you customers, if they have concerns, make them clear, communicate with them, because they will make your business successful in the future.

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?

Luckily I have a big family, love being with them, having fun together, like cooking and celebrate together birthdays, and holidays. Other days I just like to take a stroll down to the river with my husband. Especially like the autumn colors of the nature.Customquiltsbyeva6

What is your favorite quote?

“Sometimes your joy is the source of your smile, but sometimes your smile can be the source of your joy.” — Thich Nhat Hanh

Where can people find out more about your business?

I have some other media online, I really like Instagram, to share and support each other, and I think it is brilliant platform to “meet” new people with same interest.

Facebook:
Customquiltsbyeva

Instagram:
chinookdesignCustomquiltsbyeva5

________

If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

One thought on “Member Feature: Chinook Design

Leave a Reply

