Celebrating National Braille Literacy Month through Textures

Contributor post by Alexandra from EyeLoveKnots

January is National Braille Literacy Month. Braille is something we are thankful for worldwide, but especially in my family as a few of my family members have been affected by Retinoblastoma, a cancer of the eye – You can read more about this in my personal About Me. Braille is all about the raised dots and touch/feel. I thought it’d be a neat twist on that to do a textured topic.

I invited my fellow Christmas in July Etsy team members to share items from their shops that were textured, and a short story about their items.

Usually, I try to narrow down the entries, but this time I couldn’t help but share them all! They are all great items, and a wide variety of them shared here. What fun!

She says, “This is some vintage burlap ribbon I got a hold of but it had damage all thru the roll because of a pin that was placed in it and the pin rusted so there were rust spots. I loved the ribbon and got it at a great deal because of the rust. When I got it home it sat for a few months til I noticed I could use the ribbon between the rust spots by cutting it and using it on gift tags, so I used this what would be an unusable ribbon in these wonderful tags. The tags are made out of a textured paper and the lace and burlap gives it even more texture in these OOAK [One of a Kind] tags.”


She says, “The pin hole design on the copper sleeve of this ceramic pot reminds me of the dots created by a brailler. I worked with visually impaired students before my retirement.”


She says, “As an artist, I love texture and much of my sculptural work is highly textured. This ring is made from upcycled buttons, the top blue button featuring raised dots, and certainly capturing the theme of this topic.”


She says, “This was the first item I knit using the Trinity Stitch and thought it was tough, but once I got the hang of the pattern I found myself whizzing through it and it was finished in no time! It was really satisfying seeing the finished scarf, and I was so glad I stuck with it to the end – now knitting the Trinity Stitch is a breeze!  “


She says, “What a great way to bridge our work with awareness! The texture of this yarn is soft, and somewhat bumpy and then to add the twists to the fabric it makes gives a dimensional feel to the texture making the scarf soft and cuddly with a great feel.”


She says, “Having worked with a number of visually impaired students, I chose this leaf bowl. It has a serrated edge like a real leaf and the veins are the type that you would find in a real leaf. Tactile-wise, the dish is an interesting piece.”


She says, “I make crochet cotton wash cloths and soap sacks with raised “nubs” that massage and exfoliate for a spa-like experience. They are so popular I had to be sure to carry some “manly” colors for the menfolk, but the example shared here is for the ladies! These are fun to crochet as the “nubs” keep the feel of things interesting.”


This was such a fun topic to write on, and I love all of the wonderful items chosen by our fellow Christmas in July team members! They are all quite different from one another and have their own individual stories to them, but all have great texture that tie into our posed topic.

Have you created anything with exceptional texture that you think make it stand out above the rest of your items? Share your story with us!
One thought on “Celebrating National Braille Literacy Month through Textures

Leave a Reply

