Member Feature: DesignedbyAnneliese

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Please join us in welcoming Anneliese of DesignedbyAnneliese, our featured member!

DesignedbyAnneliese

DesignedbyAnneliese

Tell us about yourself.

My name is Annie and I am a mum to two little boys. I was born and live in Sydney, Australia. Besides looking after my boys (and husband) and making crafty things, I play the violin in an orchestra and love chocolate (which is not the best when I work as a dietitian!). I love to go travelling which is harder now with my boys but when we do I am always on the lookout for something a bit different I can use in my creations! I especially love patterned paper and have a few too many packs which I don’t really have room for…

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I opened my shop earlier this year. From a young age I have been into craft and making things. When I had my first boy I spent a bit of his nap time making cards. I ended up making quite a few with not enough occasions to use them! Both my mum and my husband suggested opening up an Etsy store. I took a little while thinking about it and decided to take the plunge and haven’t looked back!DesignedbyAnneliese1

Tell us a bit about your products.

Whenever I see some paper or other bits like stickers, paper flowers and so on that catches my eye, I just have to buy it. Then begins the process of what to make with it. I have a think about it and a play around and I have a few cards, gift tags and envelopes. I mainly make blank cards but some have themes like baby cards. I especially love to make special orders!

What inspires your work? 

My family and friends would have to be my main inspiration. If they ask for something specific I make it again but slightly different for my shop.DesignedbyAnneliese2

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business? 

This year is nearly over but I would love to have my own craft room to work in! At the moment everything gets spread over the coffee table. To have my room means buying a new house and that won’t happen for quite some time!

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

I love to use a lot of bright colours and I have a variety of items in my shop – not just cards or envelopes but a range of other things like earrings and bracelets.DesignedbyAnneliese3

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

Like I commented earlier, all of my work is done on either the coffee table or dinning table. I really wish I could have a craft room that I could organise all of my supplies and do my work!

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

It is a lot more work than I thought! It took time (and still does) to work out how SEO works, how to take nice photos and how to use social media to promote my items.DesignedbyAnneliese4

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

Remember it takes a lot of work. It may take a little while before any sales come through but don’t despair. Keep persevering and you will get there!

I recommend using social media as a way to promote your products and reach your target market.

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?

Well I have my boys to look after which takes up most of my time. But otherwise I love to play the violin or read a good book.DesignedbyAnneliese5

What is your favorite quote?

Not so much a quote but a bible verse and not so much to do with craft. ‘For God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.’ John 3:16.

Where can people find out more about your business?

DesignedbyAnneliese can be found on Instagram
www.instagram.com/designedbyanneliese

Or feel free to email me at designedbyanneliese@gmail.com

All the best!DesignedbyAnneliese6

________

If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

One thought on “Member Feature: DesignedbyAnneliese

Leave a Reply

