Member Feature: AllSortsofsoaps

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Please join us in welcoming Janine of AllSortsofsoaps, our featured member!

AllsortsofSoaps

AllsortsofSoaps

Tell us about yourself.

I am a mum with 5 children, 6 grandchildren and 7 sponsor children. I live in Camden, NSW which is a lovely area South West of Sydney. I like to make soap! I am also an Advocate for women and children living in poverty and a part of the sales from my soaps helps to support Compassion Australia’s Child Survival Program.

I love art, music, poetry, drama, singing and dancing in my kitchen, and good literature.

I also have another lovely Etsy Shop called InCandleEssence. I would love you to take a look!

InCandleEssence

InCandleEssence

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I opened my business in March of this year. This site has grown out of my personal necessity due to my own skin concerns, and also a desire to participate in the Natural Skincare and Etsy community. I also hope that through the creation and sale of my soaps, candles and skincare products, I will also be able to give back to those people in need in our world. There are many wonderful and worthwhile charities and organisations that do a fantastic job in helping others and one of those is Compassion International.

Tell us a bit about your products.

I have a few different products as my shop has gradually evolved from only selling soaps to now making Certified Organic skin care and candles. My soaps are both cold and hot processed using moisturizing oils and no animal lard or Palm Oil. I have two distinct ranges of soap: natural soaps which only contain all natural products and no fragrance oil other than essential oils, and Handmade soaps which may contain a skin friendly fragrance oil.AllsortsofSoaps1AllsortsofSoaps2

I also create Certified organic lip balm and Certified Organic Antioxidant Radiance Oil. I love both these products as I am a firm believer in only using products on my skin that will not do any harm and that promote skin health.AllsortsofSoaps3AllsortsofSoaps4

My candles, in both shops, are hand poured using eco soy wax, lead free wicks and skin friendly phthalate free fragrance oil. The candles in my InCandleEssence shop come in a hand decorated gift box.AllsortsofSoaps5AllsortsofSoaps6

I am very pleased with the development of my products from just a few soaps to now include a more diverse range.

What inspires your work? 

I am inspired by skin health. I now know, that healthy skin is happy skin, and so achieving healthy skin inspires me. I love fragrance, flowers, art, and sculpture, and really wish with all my heart that I was gifted in these areas!

Basically, life is inspiring and to be able to give something back to others while trying to make a living for myself also inspires me.

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business? 

I hope to expand my organic skin care range and find a way to ship body butters without the risk of them melting! Please message me if you have discovered the secret!AllsortsofSoaps7

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

I believe that AllSorts of Soap stands out because of its mission. To create skin healthy products and to give back to others who are not as fortunate as myself. I am an advocate for Compassion and their mission to release children from poverty all around the world. In my small way, AllSorts of Soap is a part of this.

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

My work space is common to all women! It is my kitchen.

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

I have learned that working late into the night is part and parcel of owning my own small business. I have also learned  to let go of my need for a completely tidy home! Juggling home, children, school runs, sport, and all the other time constraints on a Mum…has opened my eyes to the effort involved in not only my shop, but in every shop on Etsy!

I have also learned that I don’t like book-keeping and that I am terrible at it!AllsortsofSoaps8

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

Go for it! And join a team.

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?

I love to read.

What is your favorite quote?

4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. 8 Love never fails.1 Corinthians 13:4-8

Where can people find out more about your business?

You can find more about my business on the following pages-

Etsy Store – Allsortsofsoaps

Website – Allsortsofsoaps 

Facebook – AllsortsofsoapsAllsortsofSoaps9

________

If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

Leave a Reply

