Member Feature: KraftyShop

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Please join us in welcoming Karen of KraftyShop, our featured member!

KraftyShop

KraftyShop

Tell us about yourself.

Hi everyone. I’m Karen and I’m 35 years old. I have lived in New England my entire life. I’ve traveled to different places across the country and hope someday to travel abroad.

Listening to music, crocheting, making jewelry, painting, watching netflix, studying the bible and reading are just a few of my hobbies.

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I opened my KraftyShop in May of 2013 with only a few items. A year or so beforehand, a dear friend of mine suggested I open my own shop. I was nervous at first but decided to just give it a whirl. It has been quite a ride since then. I’ve met so many nice people along the way and have some great customers who make this experience totally worth it.KraftyShop1

Tell us a bit about your products.

I wanted to offer a wide variety of products, so I not only sell hats and scarves but also quality jewelry and abstract art. My hats and scarves are stitched with love and care and my jewelry is of good quality. My paintings are all different. My mood decides exactly what I will paint.

What inspires your work? 

My mood, nature, the changing of the seasons, books, and holidays are just a few examples of what inspires my work.KraftyShop2

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business? 

I hope to add a lot of new items to my business and reach a wider customer base. My dream is to make a decent living doing what I love and to continue to make quality items.

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

A variety of handmade quality items, low prices and no outrageous shipping costs is what makes my KraftyShop stand out.KraftyShop3

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

I make my items while sitting somewhere comfortable and watching Netflix or a movie. Maybe someday I will have a studio to do all of my crafting in.

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

After opening my shop, I had to learn about proper titles, descriptions, tags and SEO to get visitors to my site. I also had to learn about how to market/promote my shop, which is still a learning process. I wish I had known this before I opened my shop, so I could have properly had everything in place right away. Well you know what they say “you live, you learn.”

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

My advice to anyone looking to open their own shop is to make sure you have good titles, descriptions, tags and of course photos. Bad photos will not make your items stand out among the countless other etsy shops. Don’t expect sales right away. These things take time. Just stay encouraged and inspired and keep moving forward.KraftyShop4

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?

When I’m not working, I enjoy spending time with family and friends, bible study, going to the theater and sports games, listening to music, going to concerts, long drive golfing, swimming, hiking, and reading.

What is your favorite quote?

A closed mouth gathers no foot.

Where can people find out more about your business?

You can find out more about my business by visiting any time. I am also on social media.
Facebook: www.facebook.com/kraftyshop
Instagram: www.instagram.com/kraftyshop
Twitter: www.twitter.com/karenkraftyshop

I’d love to have you join me.KraftyShop5

________

If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

Leave a Reply

