Member Feature: TwinkleStarbyKelly

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Please join us in welcoming Kelly of TwinkleStarbyKelly, our featured member!

TwinkleStarbyKelly

TwinkleStarbyKelly

Tell us about yourself.     

I’m Kelly, I’m 36, and I’m the owner and creator of TwinkleStar Jewellery.

I love all things spacey, my favorite colour is blue, I love music and movies, I am a very proud mum to an amazing nearly 3-year-old girl (you will have seen her as my model in the children’s collection!!), I have a very supportive loving husband named Lee and I absolutely love making my jewellery.

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I started making jewellery as a hobby, a way of keeping me calm when I had anxiety, a way of focusing on something else. I find it very therapeutic and love doing the research for my legendary women and looking at gorgeous photos from NASA.

I have always been a very creative person. I used to write stories as a little girl, I used to sew (once sewed something to the sofa by accident!!) and I loved decorating my daughters baby room (a fantasy land filled with unicorns, dragons, castle, mermaid) and new bedroom (fairies and ponies).

None of these things make me feel the way that jewellery making does. I sometimes think my head will explode with all the ideas and designs I have in there. I can’t wait to make things and show them to you all.TwinkleStarbyKelly1

Tell us a bit about your products.

I started off making Astral Art Creations and Legendary Women.

I have since developed a Little Star for children collection, Elegance collection which holds a variety of creations so that you feel luxurious and beautiful and Grace collection where pieces have no specific theme but each is individually created with love.

I also have a Special occasion collection inspired by star signs and love. (awww)TwinkleStarbyKelly2

TwinkleStarbyKelly3

What inspires your work? 

I create jewellery inspired by legends and discoveries of the universe. I will find a photo of a nebula I like and create a piece of jewellery based on its colours and design and the way the colours flow through space.

I love making Legendary Women and will read about a woman first and get to know her story. The story may inspire a piece of jewellery because I see colours in the story or because of the contents of the story.

I make jewellery for children as my daughter loves wearing bracelets and accessories and I started making them for her but was asked to re-create some for friends.

The Vanessa bracelet was inspired by the SpringboardWomen’sDevelopmentProgramme that I have been lucky to be a part of this year.

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business? 

I have only been open for just over a year. My future goal is to celebrate TSjewellery’s second birthday and my dream would be to walk down the street and to see my creations float past me dangling off someone’s arm/neck.TwinkleStarbyKelly4

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

My creations are based on stories. It’s not just a bracelet or necklace.

It’s a photo from space.

It’s a life story.

It’s a role model for your daughter. A reminder that she can achieve whatever she wants to achieve in life, positivity that gives her strength.

It’s a piece of history.

It’s a moment in time.

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

I wish!! I have a small black desk and lots of drawers.

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

That networking would be harder than I thought. (and I’m IT literate!!)TwinkleStarbyKelly5

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

Join the teams. Join in the discussions and games whenever you can. Don’t be disheartened, it takes time.

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?

I love movies and music so I’ll snuggle up with my husband at night and see whats new.

I love playing with my daughter and making a mess with play dough!

Where can people find out more about your business?

Facebook: www.facebook.com/TwinkleStarByKelly

Is there anything else you’d like to share?

Think positive!TwinkleStarbyKelly6

________

If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

Leave a Reply

