Member Feature: Veronica Russek Joyas

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Please join us in welcoming Veronica of VeronicaRussekJoyas, our featured member!

VeronicaRussekJoyas

VeronicaRussekJoyas

Tell us about yourself.     

I’m a single mom of two teenagers and two dogs. I live in Monterrey, Mexico, at the base of an amazing mountain.

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I started making jewelry when my son was little, in 2001. At first, I started making things for myself, and then it grew into a business when I realized I loved making things, yet couldn’t keep every single piece. I sold to friends, at home parties, and then started on Ebay in 2004. I opened my Etsy shop in 2009 and have been selling there since. I also have my own website now.

Tell us a bit about your products.

I make wire wrapped jewelry with genuine gemstone beads and cultured freshwater pearls, using sterling silver and gold filled metals. I love color, so my pieces can be really colorful, depending on the stones used.VeronicaRussekJoyas1

What inspires your work? 

Everything! From flowers, to nature, art, what people are wearing, fashion magazines, watching TV and movies. I’m always looking for color combinations and styles, and how can I adapt them to my jewelry. Sometimes I will pull out bead strands and try putting together bead combinations.

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business? 

I want to continue growing my business to the point of having more steady sales and being able to live off it. Right now it is an important source of supplemental income.

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

There are many talented artists that make pieces similar to mine, but I would like to think my pieces are elegant, wearable and can be layered with other pieces and worn with a lot of things. I also use only materials found on good quality jewelry. All metals are with sterling silver or 14/20 gold filled, which lasts for years. My beads are actual gemstones and real pearls, so they will stand the test of time and have intrinsic value.VeronicaRussekJoyas2

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

I’m working from home. I made some space in my home office where I store all my supplies organized in plastic boxes for easy access, and work there.

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

That selling is hard. I wish I had known more about promotion early on.VeronicaRussekJoyas3

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

Make your product stand out, make your photos as good as possible and be persistent.

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?

I love to watch TV, movies, go for walks, out with friends and cuddle with my dogs.

What is your favorite quote?

Life has many ways of testing a person’s will, either by having nothing happen at all or by having everything happen at once. -Paulo CoehloVeronicaRussekJoyas4

Where can people find out more about your business?

On Instagram @veronicarussek, Pinterest @veronicarussek, Etsy: VeronicaRussekJoyas or veronicarussekjoyas.com

Is there anything else you’d like to share?

That I hope people like what they see when they see my shop.

________

If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

Leave a Reply

