Treasury Challenge Winner September – BeadsandThreadsbyAmy

Guest Post By Kristy from KrystalKlarityBeads

On Etsy many shop owners curate treasuries. A treasury is a curated shop gallery composed of 16 items from any shop. Most of the time they are done by theme, color or anything you can imagine. These are done for promotional reasons and also are sometimes just done for fun by those that really enjoy making them.

The Christmas in July  team has challenges to create treasuries centered on themes of our choosing. We then pick a winner based on views, creativity and so on.

The September winner for our Back To School challenge is Amy Spock  who started BeadsandThreadsbyAmy. Amy enjoys several crafting areas; starting with beading and quilting it has led to a love for creating custom patterns for businesses and individuals. I asked Amy some questions about being on Etsy.

How long have you been creating and what first started your love for beading?

I have been beading for about 12 years now. A friend of mine is a beading fanatic, and put together a kit for me for Christmas several years ago. The kit was for a beaded ornament cover, and I have been making them ever since. I also create jewelry, but I always love those so much that I keep them for myself!

il_570xN.624404187_8w22

You also do embroidery. What got you started with your love for embroidery?

The embroidery side of Beads and Threads started with quilting. My small machine just wasn’t cutting it, so I started shopping around for a new machine. I got a great deal on a floor model, single needle embroidery machine. I loved it so much, that we ended up investing in a larger machine. Now, we are able to do hats, shirts, towels, bags, and just about anything else you can imagine!

il_570xN.708647245_97fv

 What do you think is most important for a new business owner to know; something that you wish you had known?

I think the hardest thing for me has been pricing items. I tried formulas and seeking advice from friends who also sell their crafts. At the end of the day, I had to decide for myself what profit margin I am comfortable with while still offering my customers reasonable prices and quality items. I would encourage new sellers to really scrutinize their costs and make sure they pay themselves a decent wage for their work.

il_570xN.472863609_gmaj

 You do custom work also I see. What is the most rewarding thing about this for you?

We love custom orders! We have designed patterns for customers, digitized their business logos, and put together patterns for special occasions. It is so rewarding to work with our customers so closely to help them get exactly what they want.

il_570xN.582996082_1j7u

 If you had to choose just one type of crafting, what do you think it would be?

Actually, if I could choose one type of crafting, it would be knit and crochet. My mother tried to teach me for years, and I have never been coordinated enough to actually do it. I would love to learn how.

il_570xN.541082021_3pfr

What are your social media sites?

https://www.etsy.com/shop/BeadsandThreadsbyAmy

https://www.facebook.com/BeadsAndThreadsbyAmy

http://beadsandthreadsbyamy.weebly.com/

Leave a Reply

