Getting Ready for the Holidays

cranberries

Contributor post by Sheila of BeadyEyedBird

Happy Upcoming Holidays from Us to You – we hope you have happy days, little stress, many sales, lovely creative & quiet time, and hopefully – some rest. We appreciate our Christmas in July & other Etsy friends and followers so very much, and look forward to hearing about your interests, your work, and YOU!

In the meantime, here at The Bead (& family) we’re sorting out who will ‘Do’ Thanksgiving & ‘Where’, while looking forward to a little free time to do simple stuff like bake cookies and walk the dogs. I’ll share a little thing I found on Pinterest* that makes our holidays extra special, in case you’d like to do it. I have cooked this stuff up three times so far and I think I will do it many more times before the holidays are over – the house smells heavenly.

Here’s what you’ll need…

a medium-sized pot or crock pot
1 tablespoon vanilla
3 cups apple cider
sliced oranges
sliced lemon
fresh cranberries (the grocery store didn’t have fresh cranberries when I wanted to do this, so I used dried ones and they worked just fine)
whole cloves
cinnamon sticks
fresh rosemary

Once you have all of your ingredients in the pot, fill it up with water all the way leaving about an inch from the top. Then pop it on your stove and let it simmer away. Within MINUTES, your entire home will be perfumed with the scent!

You can do this about 20 minutes before you have guests over. I do it when I’m all alone or just with the animals – it just makes the house smell lovely and puts me in the holiday mood.

I hope you enjoyed this little tip on how you too can make your home smell like the holidays. I’d love to know if you’ve done this before, or if your recipe is a little different from mine. Leave me a comment below or on The Bead’s Facebook page, letting me know what you do to make your house smell like holidays (and/or about your latest projects, sales events, new items, etc.!)

Until Next Time,

Sheila

*Here’s the link to the original recipe: http://www.firsthomelovelife.com/2013/11/make-home-smell-like-christmas.html

Leave a Reply

