Simonetta Book and Art Launch

Guest post by Carmen from carmensart

I am, loosely speaking, a “Daily Painter,” creating at least three small paintings a week most weeks. As you can imagine, inventory builds in a hurry at that rate. I like to have a few paintings scheduled ahead, “on deck,” so to speak, so that when a big project comes along I can carve out some time for it. Luckily, I was prepared when my friend Fay Picardi asked our painting group to create art in support of the launch of her book, “Simonetta.”

61bDm8uFL3L._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_

Simonetta was the beauty who is believed to be the model for Sandro Botticelli’s famous painting, “Birth of Venus.” Her beauty was so renowned that she was painted frequently during her short life. It was the time of the Medici’s in Florence during the Italian Renaissance, and art and beauty were much revered. Simonetta was the cousin of Amerigo Vespucci, namesake of our country. Botticelli painted several portraits of her.

800px-Sandro_Botticelli_066

How amazed Botticelli would be to see his image of Simonetta in “Birth of Venus” plastered everywhere in Florence and in art museum gift shops around the world!

450px-Sandro_Botticelli_-_La_nascita_di_Venere_-_Google_Art_Project_-_edited

The exquisite artwork is now used on items like this, and I actually am glad that it is. Anything that keeps art in front of people, even tongue in cheek, is fine with me.

a_born_art_nerd_stainless_steel_travel_mug

When Fay asked if I would do artwork for her book launch, I didn’t want to do an exact reproduction, so I decided the next best thing would be a collage. Oh, how I am a glutton for punishment! It takes me three times longer to do a collage than an oil painting, and destroys my studio with paper everywhere. I begin with the intention of staying organized, but it always deteriorates as I go along. I get too excited when I find that just-right piece, and I maniacally shuffle and dig through magazine pages and pieces for the next one.

This is the finished product, ready for the book launch on November 6 in the Eau Gallie Arts District of Melbourne, Florida. A plug for the book: it’s available on Amazon. A plug for my collage: it’s available in my Etsy Shop.

il_570xN.851200381_jbm4

Leave a Reply

