Leadership Spotlight – BeadyEyedBird

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFindings

Leaders are an essential part of any team or organization. Leaders help other members succeed and grow as well as help the Captain achieve their objectives. Here at Christmas in July we have some wonderful Leaders and we want to honor your accomplishments in what we are calling Leadership Spotlight.

iusa_400x400.23384011_su7n

Sheila and Shannon from BeadyEyedBird are our next honorees

1. What made you decide to join the CIJ team and what do you love about the team?

Because I already shop all year-long for Christmas, one of my favorite holidays, I thought the ‘Christmas in July’ theme sounded really clever! I like working with folks who get ready all year-long, ramping up like crazy as early as July…

2. What made you decide to become a CIJ team leader and what do you enjoy most about being a team leader?

I was invited to be a blog writer by Alicia, and since I do a weekly blog for our shop (BeadyEyedBird on Etsy), I thought it would be both doable and enjoyable!

3. What is your style of leadership?

I retired as a college president in 2012. Folks there teased me about being somewhat conflict averse — which is true — and I’m also a pretty trusting and hands-off leader. That is, until someone fails to do what they committed to do. Then I can become what’s sometimes referred to as a ‘nag’. (Is that a legitimate style of leadership??)

4. Tell us about yourself and your shop.

My daughter Shannon and I started the shop because we’re both passionate about beads, gemstones, artisan jewelry and entrepreneurship.

5. What are your social media sites?

Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheBeadCollection/

Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/sortego1/

Twitter: www.twitter.com/beadsheila

Instagram: instagram.com/sheila.mclaughlin/

Leave a Reply

