Member Feature: Madcapz

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Please join us in welcoming Carrie of Madcapz, our featured member!

madcapz

madcapz

Tell us about yourself.     

 I’m a mom to two great kids, wife to a fabulous husband, and entrepreneur! I love to hike, cook, read, and hang out with my family.

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I created Madcapz when I was sick with Grave’s Disease. One of the symptoms of Graves is hair loss and I was very self-conscious of it so decided to wear a fun feminine cap to cover my head. I always liked the fit of baseball caps so I looked for a fun colorful baseball cap. I looked everywhere – online, malls, small shops – and could only find masculine boring caps or sports logo’d caps. So, I decided to create them myself – and Madcapz was born!madcapz1

Tell us a bit about your products.

Madcapz are fun colorful sporty baseball caps for women. Women love the low profile fit, a cap that fits close to your head and doesn’t stand way up on top. Madcapz have an adjustable strap in the back for a comfy easy fit. The bill of our caps are 1 3/4 inches long so it provides ample sun protection. All fabrics are 100% cotton. Madcapz come in an assortment of fun stylish prints so every woman can find a Madcapz that suits her personality!

What inspires your work? 

Colors and patterns. I like women to feel good when they wear Madcapz so I look for fun colorful fabrics. I want Madcapz to make a statement when you wear them so I’m mindful of the different fabrics I choose to express different styles that appeal to all women.madcapz2

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business? 

I’d love to establish Madcapz on Etsy. I’ve been on here for a few years but have done nothing other than list caps. In the past two months I have really focused on Etsy and am seeing a difference. I’d like to increase my visibility and sales here!

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

Madcapz are fun, colorful, and feminine but offers the comfortable style of a ball cap. Most ball caps are trucker caps and drab solid colors. Ours stand out in style and color!madcapz4

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

I have a factory in N Carolina that does the actual manufacturing of the caps so I don’t need a studio. I do have an office in my home where I work every day.

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

There will be ups and downs and it’s best to just go with the flow. Mistakes will be made but if you have the passion for your product and it’s a good product, it – and you – will succeed!madcapz3

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

DO IT! And, if you decide to do it, allow yourself the time to work on it. I was on here for two years and never spent more than a few minutes every few months on it. Now I am dedicating most of my time to Etsy – and it’s starting to pay off! Also, there are tons of free resources to help with the ins and outs of Etsy, take advantage of them!

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?

I love to cook! I find it very relaxing and it takes my mind off all my other issues. I also love to hike with my family – and summertime is the best!

What is your favorite quote?

“The days are long but the years are short” – It’s so true and I try to remember that on a daily basis.madcapz5

Where can people find out more about your business?

Here on Etsy and on my website, www.madcapz.net.

Is there anything else you’d like to share?

Love the community on Etsy – it’s really an amazing group of people who try to help each other succeed!

________

If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

Leave a Reply

