Treasury Challenge Winner August – Cynhumphrey

Contributor post by Kristy of KrystalKlarityBeads

On Etsy many shop owners curate treasuries. A treasury is a curated shop gallery comprised of 16 items from any shop. Most of the time they are done by theme, color or anything you can imagine. These are done for promotional reasons and also are sometimes just done for fun by those that really enjoy making them.

The Christmas in July  team has challenges to create treasuries centered on themes of our choosing. We then pick a winner based on views, creativity and so on.

The August winner is Cynhumphrey started by Cindy Humphrey. Cindy enjoys making one of a kind treasures for others such as; unique beaded jewelry, recycled items or home decor.

 1. What made you open up your shop?

There were two reasons I opened my shop. The first was because I was tired of going to the store to purchase “just the right color” or “just the right style” of something I wanted to wear or give as a gift, and not finding what I was looking for. After much frustration, I remembered I was crafty in my younger days and I figured I could bring back those skills, even though it had been years since they were utilized,and make what I wanted myself. This led to me showing off my homemade items to family and friends, which eventually led me to the second reason I opened my shop.

il_570xN.713379533_emhx

I had strong encouragement from friends. They loved what I created and told me others would too. I had never even heard about Etsy until a co-worker encouraged me to check it out and open a shop. After about a year of listening to them decided to open shop since I would be doing something I loved anyway.

2. What business advice would you give to new business owners?

I think one of the big lessons (I learned the hard way) was to be patient with sales. Shop success does not happen over night for most people and it takes a LOT of hard work. It’s important to have good pictures, great tags, and clear descriptions.

il_570xN.669223913_h7i9

 3. I see you are a maker of many products. what is your favorite type of product and why?

This is hard for me to answer! I truly put my heart and soul into everything I create. I don’t offer anything that I myself wouldn’t like as a gift. If it’s not good enough for me,it’s not good enough for anyone else! If I had to pick, it would be a toss-up between my home decor items and my accessories. I think the reason for that is that they are “different” and not something that everyone else has.

il_570xN.824897105_ouq7

I would like to think that if someone received one of these items as a gift, they would constantly be reminded that they are loved by the person who chose the gift for them. Jewelry is a common accessory for women and worn every day. However the piece getting worn changes day by day. With home decor items, you look at them displayed in just the right spot of your home all the time.

il_170x135.724191561_20kk

 4. Do you have a fave business tool? what is it and why do you like it?

I’m not sure if this counts but I LOVE TreasuryBox! I enjoy promoting others through treasuries and this app makes it so easy and quick!

il_170x135.735345893_rjta

5. What are your social media links?

https://www.etsy.com/shop/Cynhumphrey

https://www.pinterest.com/humphrcl/

https://www.facebook.com/CynhumphreyCreativeCreations

3 thoughts on “Treasury Challenge Winner August – Cynhumphrey

Leave a Reply

