Sewing Machine Day

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFindings

Sewing Machine Day,September 10th, celebrates a very important invention —– the sewing machine. The first sewing machines were made in France in the 1830s.

Here at Christmas in July we want you to share any sewing items and the story behind it!

Cyndi Dragonflyz Dreams from frstyfrolk says:

These 6 inch Knitted Bullion Trims are available in any color you desire and any length! Use them in sewing a Hassock, Poof or Tuffett Foot Stools along the Bottom Border. You may also surround and cover the edging of a pillow to show more ambiance! Embellishment for Handbags, and other Home Decor or Costumes. Get with it, I have several kinds and sizes available!

It might be Bohemian, Shabby Chic, Traditional, Victorian, Romantic, Edwardian, Renaissance, etc.

Please see my Shop section called Buttons, Notions, Fabrics for other similar listings.

il_170x135.697884501_7cwe

Nautico Creations from NauticoCreations said:

Where would we be without the sewing machine? We certainly would have less clothes, blankets, quilts, etc. Hand sewing these items would take far too long!

The checkerboard baby blanket is a great example of an item that would be hard to hand sew. With so many pieces stitched together it would be a very intricate process. The blanket is super soft though so the sewer at least would have a great fabric to hold while working on the project.

Viva la France! Thanks for such a great invention to help make our lives easier.

il_170x135.753035692_4xnf

LeAnn Frobom from pasqueflower states:

This item celebrates Sewing Machine Day in two ways. Many of us learned to sew with guidance from our grandmothers. And sewing machines have advanced in the past century far beyond straight stitches. We are now able to make sturdy buttonholes, decorative stitches and machine-embroidered designs.

il_170x135.756501384_4iy1

Becky from LollysCubbyHole discusses:

I was inspired as a little girl listening to the hum and clackety clack of my grandmother’s 1950’s Necchi machine, upon which she created all my clothes! ( my girlfriend still owns the machine!)

I make so many things on sewing machines, and I own 3 plus a serger( which I have not mastered).

il_170x135.801389524_3o8k

Rina from RinartsAtelier said:

I have several sewing machine, and none of them I can miss. Most of them I use every day.

Yet I donated one of the oldest machines, I did not use for a long time (A hand driven Singer 19K58 ) to a foundation that rescues tools and machines for projects in third world countries.

I hope the people there will have a lot of Sewing Machine Days with my old machine.

You can read more about this in my blog here:

www.rinarts.nl/blog/my-old-singer-sewing-machine

Judith Messenger from FabriArts states:

Most of the items in my shop were created on a sewing machine! I make quilts, baby blankets, quilted table linens, aprons, fabric accessories, framed fiber art and fabric cards and postcards. I do lots of embellishment by hand, especially on my fiber art and postcards, but there is usually some machine stitching on these projects as well.

This is one of my favorite quilts – the bright fabrics and colors really make stitching quilts like this fun!

il_170x135.717252538_q2hn

Chinook Design from Customquiltsbyeva says:

My sewing machine is my silent partner in business. There’s five different specialized sewing machines in my workshop to help me create my quilts day by day. Without these guys the production time would be so much longer. I love my little helpers.

il_170x135.321639833

Nancy from FredsDiscoveries tells me:

 quilt making can be done on the sewing machine or by hand. Here are some great gift ideas for the quilter in your family. Yes, I love to make quilts.

il_170x135.651359955_f1sd

 

 

 

One thought on “Sewing Machine Day

Leave a Reply

