Blog Tips, Tricks And Advice

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFindings

Blogs are a great way to help market your business, organization or a team. We use our #EtsyCIJ blog to market our members, ourselves and celebrate handmade!

Here at Christmas in July we want to know what tips,tricks and advice you have about blogs and blogging?

Gari Anne from beadloverskorner says:

One of the things that I really try to do when blogging is to try to think of how my writing and item promotion might solve a problem for someone or answer a question someone has. So many people (including myself) use the internet for research, so blog writing to increase traffic should try to solve a problem or answer a question for someone.

One of my most visited blog posts is one I did on how to create necklace cards. I had purchased them several times but had been disappointed by what I received so I spent a good amount of time figuring out how I could create them myself. Then I turned it into a tutorial to help others who had the same issues with premade necklace or earring cards for their business. I wasn’t selling a product in that blog post, but the people who search and find my post might also decide to look at my Etsy shop or website where they might find something they want to purchase at some point.

il_170x135.378941762_j1lo

Savannah Griffith from RareRusticCrafts says:

Gari Anne, I think you’re totally correct when you say that you use the internet for research. Most of the blogs I follow are for small businesses and they contain mostly information on typical how-tos for small business owners (like social media guides, market guides, or general information about taxes and accounting). I follow these blogs religiously because they always have information that I need to know but never think of myself. I also like to follow blogs with information on managing my time and balancing my personal and professional life (because we all work way to hard!)

For my own blog, I think I need to keep this in mind more. I have a difficult time viewing my own website from a customers perspective, so I definitely think it needs some work. In my blog, I often post about whatever I’m working on at the time, so it might be a new product, preparing for a photo shoot, or I might share some insight into upcoming projects. To be honest, my blog doesn’t have a clear direction and it’s very scattered. I just moved it from WordPress onto my own site and started managing it more directly. I’m hoping this will make it easier for me to integrate it with the site and the overall brand of my business.

My best performing article was one I wrote about why I decided to go into business for myself. It might help me to re-read that article a few times and talk to some of my customers to see why it was so impactful.

Looking forward to seeing your blogs! You can check mine out here: Rare Rustic Crafts Blog.

I welcome your feedback and advice!

RareRusticCrafts

Leave a Reply

