Member Feature: Rosebuds Originals

Contributor post by Ashley of French Soul Knittery

Please join us in welcoming Rose Baker  of Rosebuds Originals, our featured member!

RosebudsOriginals

RosebudsOriginals

Tell us about yourself.       

I grew up in the South with a passion for gardening, arts and crafts homes…and those fabulous tea parties. The kind that sprawl across the rose laden gardens that seemed to come to life once the first warm day of Spring arrived.

Over the years, I have become a master gardening working for years as a landscaper in both residential and cityscaping. I am married to a wonderful man, with a dog named Freta, and a cat named Piglett.

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

After I was downsized out of the job market, I opened my business in Jan 2012, and have never looked back. I found after selling on different venues, that Etsy was my home where I want to come to first thing in the morning and when I retire at night.RosebudsOriginals1

Tell us a bit about your products.           

Though I started with handmade bags. I started incorporating a piece of heirloom china plate here and there, and I slowly dwindled my bags out and replaced with china, not just any piece but those that I remembered my grandmother using as a child which brought happy memories. The kind of extra special Sunday lunch china. I am one of the top sellers of mismatched china, as I believe that in creating beautiful tabletops are a reflection of every great hostess.

What inspires your work?           

As mentioned, I am inspired by Rose gardens, after all I was named after one of my favorite flowers. I am always amazed at finding just the perfect piece to mingle with other pieces to blend in perfect harmony with each other. I often go to estate sales, and what inspires me in each piece I hand select is the stories of how it was used, how it was loved by the previous owner. Not every piece I select is perfect, but that’s one of the things that makes it so perfect.RosebudsOriginals2

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business?         

I have several goals for my business this year. I have hopes to open a small brick and mortar bed and bath shop, that will be open to the public. I also have plans to extend my gardening space incorporating more herbs for my herbal sachets.

My dream would be to be the premiere wedding registry shop.

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

I believe that if you take good care of the customer, that they will be back. It’s the little touches that makes a difference.A hand written thank you note, a little herbal pouch as a thank you gift. Good customer service is paramount especially in the e-commerce business.RosebudsOriginals3

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

I have several work spaces. The gazebo that you see in my avatar, I use for my photography studio, plus I have a separate sewing shop that shares space with my shipping dept. I also have a china studio that is separate from my house as well, where the temperatures are controlled.

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

When I first opened my shop, I bought with what I love in mind without paying attention to the trends. I don’t always go with the trends, I do try to stay true to myself, but I do shop with the customer in mind.RosebudsOriginals4

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

Patience! Sales don’t always come immediately. The best thing I did was to

join a team and NETWORK! Networking is so important especially with your team. Whether it’s through making treasuries, following other sellers and their shops. It’s important to do these things as it adds exposure to your shop.

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?

I love gardening. It’s therapy for the spirit and the soul. There is something so rewarding as when you plant a seed and watch it grow, much like my business on Etsy.

I also love to can and put up preserves. We have a small vineyard where we grow 3 different varieties of grapes. I can them and give as gifts for Christmas.RosebudsOriginals5

What is your favorite quote?

Be the change you wish to see in the world…”Gandhi”

Where can people find out more about your business?  

Please stop by my”about” page to find my work in progress

https://www.etsy.com/shop/RosebudsOriginals/about

  Is there anything else you’d like to share?         

I found for me, that life on Etsy is ever changing, it’s a comfortable fit for me.

It’s like coming home after a cold day at work, to the smell of hot apple pie baking in the oven.

I’ve been a seller on here for years, and it’s always something a little different everyday. I find out a little something different about myself everyday.RosebudsOriginals6

________
If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

One thought on “Member Feature: Rosebuds Originals

Leave a Reply

