Book Lovers Day is August 9th 2015

Contributor post by Dawn from DeeDeeDeesigns

Book Lovers Day is August 9th, and is  “A day for those who love to read, Book Lovers Day encourages you to kick back and relax with a great book. From shaded spots under arching trees to being tucked up warm in bed, there’s no better way to celebrate Book Lovers Day than to while the hours away lost in a book.”

I LOVE reading and always have a pile of books on my bedside table – I wish I had more time to read!

I asked Christmas in July team members if they had any items in their store that captured the spirit of Book Lovers Day – here’s what they had to say:

I have several book marks or book thongs in my shop. I love to read and have made several different types of book marks over the years. Today so many people read on their portable computer devices, but there is nothing like having a good book to read and this bookmark will hold your place and is decorative too!

I just started making bookmarks and they’re becoming one of my favorite things to do.
I love reading, and have a personal goal to have a bookmark to go with every book I own. Book, reading and writing are a massive part of my life, so it’s great for me that I’ve found a way to bring my crafting into it as well.

These days reading physical books seem to be somewhat phased out for some, with the norm of e-books, kindle and the likes.
But truth be told, reading physical books has no comparison with technology. I created these heart-shaped bookmarks to prove this point exactly. Reading a book is a form of relaxation. You have a book in one hand, a cuppa in the other, away from any form of technology, be in the present. This is much more indulging than reading from a screen.
Sometimes going back to basic is just what we need.
I love my books!

My Brother used to love having the different stories about Lowly Worm, by Richard Scarry, read to him at bedtime. A classic author for Children’s Story books, Richard Scarry, is well-loved to this day with his charming and colorful graphics and fun tales of animals doing human things!

I have a friend who is an absolute lover of Alice in Wonderland! I saw the rabbit charms and thought man these are so her! I made her a pair and also have these in my shop thinking she cannot be the only one who is gaga over this story.

I love to read – real books. I’m certainly not the Kindle person – I like the feel and smell of a book, the excitement of opening a new book, getting lost in a good story. Reading is an important part of my day, I always take time for it, at least before I go to sleep, but preferably more often. I always have a book (or something to knit) with me. And of course you can never have too many bookmarks!

I love reading and the way it transports me to another world. And what do I also love while curled up on the couch reading? A nice hot cup of tea, and it always tastes better in a handmade cup or mug!

I absolutely love to read! I have enjoyed creating various bookmarks for those book lovers out there! I love to collect bookmarks whenever I go on holidays (and ask my family to bring back bookmarks for me when they go away) and I have a growing collection.

Angsanaseeds from Angsanaseedsphoto says

I love to read and I love photography. Reading brings me to a quiet place that is just me, and the book, of course. This photograph of the two books remind me of the treasures and pleasures that I find while reading.

What a great list – I hope this inspires you curl up on the couch on book day – and also to visit all these great team shops!

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Book Lovers Day is August 9th 2015

Leave a Reply

