10 Years of Trends – Owls

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFindings

This month Etsy celebrates 10 years as a global community of makers, inventors, and collectors.Today, we’re turning our attention to 5 memorable trends that have made their mark over the years.

http://blog.etsy.com/en/2015/10-years-of-etsy-trends/

“Since most owls are active at night, they have a mysterious quality that we associate with the elusive.”

We wanted to know if any of our CIJ members had any Owl items in their shop and the story behind the item.

Gari Anne from beadloverskorner  says:

I carry a wonderful line of pewter beads and findings by Green Girl Studios in my shop, and this is one of my favorites of their owl beads! Bubo was the owl that Athena sent to help Perseus in The Clash of the Titans movie. Bubo is also a genus made up of Horned owls and Eagle owls.

il_170x135.806511769_1nom

Ina from InaSudjana states: 

There was a time when Owls dominated most girls nursery decorations. Truly. I think it’s because they appear in many children books, they’re whimsical, and they mostly live in children’s imaginary world as we don’t see owls very often especially if we live in suburban streets and we’re not nocturnal…With their popularity comes many requests for them in my shop. Here is one

il_170x135.646893728_tsrs

Melissa R from missy69 explains:

Owls are fascinating, and some people find them creepy, and maybe even scary. As a new, and constantly learning artist, I find abstract art sometimes creepy, and fascinating, much like owls. As part of an Art challenge to create Abstract Art, I created this beautiful doodle owl. Her eyes are a little creepy, lol.

il_170x135.622840212_1ccv

Carola Bartz  discusses:

I think I have the love for owls in my genes! My mom loved owls and collected little owl trinkets. Ever since my family and I witnessed the upbringing of two owlets in one of our regional parks I have created little owls as well. This particular print of my original mixed media painting is my favorite since I combined it with my love for the American Southwest. The original painting is not for sale as it is so close to my heart.

il_170x135.340248676

Christina Paul from lebeauchaton said:

I frequently feature owls in my shop – and have a blog with an owl logo I love how expressive their faces can be – they seem always to be thinking and feeling thoughts.

il_170x135.694875375_iio9

Annie from DesignedbyAnneliese states:

I love little cute owls like the ones on these cards. Actually I really like any fluffy animal and the little white fluffy owls are so cute. I have been fortunate to see an owl in the wild one night when visiting a friend’s house. It was a lovely moment!

il_170x135.727295468_p5ts

Sue from SuesAkornShop says:

I love owls and enjoyed seeing a big one in our back yard years ago. I have quite a few owl items in my shop because I really like them.

il_170x135.737136740_pcu5

Lorraine from EyeGloArts said:

A wise old owl lived in an oak The more he saw the less he spoke The less he spoke the more he heard.
Why can’t we all be like that wise old bird?The origins and history of ‘A wise old owl’ are vague, however its meaning isn’t, basically it would be told to children in an attempt to teach the child the virtue of being quiet! The lyrics of ‘A wise old owl’ poem are derived from the saying ‘a wise old owl’ based on an owl’s behavior of watching and patiently waiting when hunting its prey. Legends concerning the owl are recorded in Greek, Celtic, Native American and Aborigine mythology. The owl is especially associated with wisdom in Greek mythology being linked with Athena, the Goddess of Wisdom. Athens is named from the Goddess Athena and its emblem is the owl. The owl was, for many years, viewed as a sinister bird only hunting at night when only evil spirits and witches were abroad – hence the connection with as a Witches Familiar! A wise old owl – “Children should be seen and not heard!

il_170x135.658023031_dyw5

Sara Wyatt from CustomCrayonsbySara stated:

I love owls – they peek out here and there in various decor in my home, including my girls’ room. Until now, I have never really thought about why I like them. Owls make me think of a forest, and forests make me thing of Autumn. I LOVE autumn. The year could be composed of 11 months of fall and the other seasons could cram into the other 1 month and I would be perfectly happy. So I added these little cuties to my shop!

il_170x135.771377326_5rnj

Lucy Clasen from LuDesignsCreations says:

Owls were my Mom’s favorite so now I love them too! They are so neat with their large eyes and the ability to swivel their head. Wonderful birds.

il_170x135.798184573_7mi6

Jennifer Loftfield from CaffeinatedPapercuts states:

I find owls so cute and adorable. I had so many people asking me at craft shows if I had anything owl I simply *had* to add something! The magnets I created are such a big hit that this year I added key chains to the mix as well.

il_170x135.795472868_3skd
This is one of my most popular items in my shop, the Owl Mug Cozy. I started crocheting these when a friend requested one after seeing the crochet pattern online. It was one of the first crochet patterns I actually spent money on and I am glad I did. It is very intricate with a lot of weaving of ends and I did not like making these at first. But, after many orders of them I have become quite proficient at creating them and actually enjoy it! And they are oh so cute with so much personality. I’ve even branched out from this pattern to create a panda bear and a penguin and will soon offer a duck model so keep an eye out. Thanks for letting me share this here.
il_170x135.538514810_f9a2
Personally I love owls and visit the “Audubon Center for Birds of Prey” whenever I can. I wanted to design an owl that was unique and whimsical for a hand embroidered pillow. I infused a nature theme within my owl design, by making his wings “leaves” and placing flowers on his chest. I wanted to offer a handmade item that would bring joy to an owl lover.
il_170x135.690817390_3r2o
I think my true love of owls started from growing up reading Harry Potter and being in love with his pet, Hedwig. Snowy owls are definitely my favorite, and one of my favorite of all birds.
One of my favorite ‘owl facts’ is that a historical favorite of mine, Florence Nightingale, kept an owl she named Athena as a pet.
il_170x135.811484683_ky2x
I loved Owls since I was a child. They always seemed so wise, gracious and mysterious at the same time. Owls to me associate with school, books and Winnie Pooh story. I remember how my teacher put the wooden Owl statue on her desk at the beginning of the class.

Now with Fall season coming I made these honey mustard color boot cuffs and attached the wise Owl from the 1970’s as accessory.

il_170x135.805820427_1p68
Ginny C from GRCTreasures discussed:
I too am drawn to owls when I am out “hunting”, in fact this Saturday I bought another one at a yard sale. I said to my husband I may have to keep this one for myself. The vintage owl is from the 70’s and I took the picture outside on my back patio to show how it would look in its proper environment so to speak.
il_170x135.793248493_1bpj
The Owl fabric in this listing is what I bought to create my very 1st Nappy Wallet for my first-born son. 4 years ago. I now make many Nappy/Diaper wallets & am happy to present one of my newest creations!
This Owl design will find its new owner soon enough.
il_170x135.792320740_ofu8
I find owls somewhat mysterious – often heard and seldom seen. We have many types here around our farm and frankly my chickens could do without them but I quite like their single steady focus on things – although a bit aloof.

I managed to capture this handsome fellow one nasty winter day. He was actually perched on the deck railing right outside my bedroom window hunkered down against the elements.

il_170x135.448605035_nosq
Owls are found in legends among many cultures, as well as many other reasons are why the Owl is one of the 10 Year of Trends for Etsy.
5 thoughts on “10 Years of Trends – Owls

Leave a Reply

