Summer 2015 Trend: Personalization

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

I am fascinated by trends. Are you? There are weather trends, work place trends, business trends, job trends, food trends, real estate trends, hair trends, fashion trends color trends and so on.

The definition of a trend is a general direction in which something is developing or changing. In college I took several classes on trends. I remember distinctly studying pre peak – peak – post peak timelines. I find trends intriguing. They pique my curiosity.

Trends unite us. Give us a common ground. A connecting point.

During the #CIJParty 2015 I introduced you to the Summer 2015 Trends. Over the next few days I would like to share the CIJ team member trends in more detail!

The fifth summer trend we’re going to explore is Personalization. This article is inspired by the Trend Watch Summer 2015 on the Etsy blog.

rina from RinartsAtelier says:

Last year I met an artisan bookbinder who had a hot foil press she worked with to press names and symbols in the linen of the books she made.  She printed these hearts on leather for me.

I was so enthusiastic about the results, I bought a letter-press myself, and now I can do it myself. This is one of my first personalized items, but there are many to come!

I am experimenting with personalizing some of my items on Etsy.
I wrote about my experiences on my blog:
www.rinarts.nl/blog/personalizing-handmade-items

RinartsAtelier

RinartsAtelier

Michele from chelkay says:

I have designed several personalized pieces with a vintage, antique, retro style appearance. The characters have an imperfect rubber stamp like appearance from the days of old which matches the sepia antique color of the font.

The custom lettering is ‘fused’ to the glass at a high temperature of over 1200 degrees.

chelkay

chelkay

Kristy Jo from KrystalKlarityBeads says:

I love to make custom things to support cancer awareness – I am a 4 year survivor of lung cancer – and I love to offer as many different charms/customized colors, and more! I try to keep costs down on anything related to these type of listings also, as it is my way of giving something back.

I just got started with personalizing and you will see added personalization available very soon – especially with anything cancer related, awareness in general, or inspirational.

KrystalKlarityBeads

KrystalKlarityBeads

Kristen from KestrelCollection says:

A good luck charm pendant that has a birthstone option for personalization. Make a wish!

KestrelCollection

KestrelCollection

Rasa Nenart from Toyfifi says:

Big bear with big heart is so so cute! At least a lot of people say so! I hope it is true.

This bear was born in my drawing.

Firstly it was without heart and with no name on it, but I had another toy which was holding a heart in his hands, but still it had just a heart, but no name on it. One day a custom order came which said:

“I just love this bear, but I need a name on it, maybe it could be in a heart like another toy has?”

It was amazing Idea. I just loved final image of it.

Toyfifi

Toyfifi

Chinook Design from Customquiltsbyeva says:

I can personalize any item from my shop for you.

The owl pillows have the requested name on the tummy usually.
I can also embroider a name onto the quilt.

I wrote about how I create the owl pillows in my blog a little while ago. It’s not a full step by step blog, just some thoughts.
chinookdesign.blogspot.hu/2015_02_01_archive.html

Customquiltsbyeva

Customquiltsbyeva

Ina from InaSudjana says:

Here’s one sweet felt name banner I made for my little girl.

Whilst her diet is mainly veggies and fruits as these are what we eat at home, she is our lollipop in the house. She’s bubbly, cheery and she talks non stop – well, most of the time!

And of course she loves her ice cream!

InaSudjana

InaSudjana

I have been quilting for a long time, only last winter I decided to quilt this Christmas Stockings using the English Paper Pieced Technique, I fell in love with them immediately! These Christmas Stockings are to last forever so I thought that to personalized them would be a good idea. And here they are!

Quilterbell

Quilterbell

Amy Spock from BeadsandThreadsbyAmy says:

We offer custom embroidery on just about anything imaginable-even our customer’s own items. We created this one for a prize for a kid’s fishing tournament. We sponsor one of a very few High School Fishing Clubs in a high school in Colorado (Cyclone Anglers). We decided to list this item as a fund-raiser for our club, as we frequently take kids fishing for fun and for competition. We have taken kids to local events, state events, and to events as far away as Arizona and Arkansas.

BeadsandThreadsbyAmy

BeadsandThreadsbyAmy

Sue and Misty from shabbyshopgirls says:

We love vintage Monogrammed or Initialed Handkerchiefs! Wonderful wedding gifts as well as re purposing into an ingenious craft!

shabbyshopgirls

shabbyshopgirls

Edita Mel from MONOFACES says:

We love dogs. And I believe we share this love with millions of people.

This is a personalized baby bodysuit we made for the human brother of Labrador Lilly. When baby arrives, we don’t want dogs to be forgotten! People send us photos and we create graphic image of the dog. We print them on ethnically sourced garments and use eco-friendly inks.

MONOFACES

MONOFACES

Jaclyn Machowicz from JacolinisCeramics says:

“Lets Eat” Turkey has always been a big hit at craft fairs! I tend to get orders on him to personalize the writing in his belly with the family’s last name or another Thanksgiving saying. It’s a great centerpiece for your Thanksgiving table or a gift to bring the host/hostesses of your Thanksgiving dinner.

JacolinisCeramics

JacolinisCeramics

Design’s the Limit from DesignstheLimit says:

We specialize in personalized! With our inspired design listings customers can request any ideas they have in mind and even send us a picture of the photograph they want to frame. We create a custom design just for them.

A customer recently sent us a picture of her two boys dressed up like pirates and we created a pirate themed picture frame which we will be adding to our shop soon. Let us know if you need a personalized frame to display your picture perfect moments.

DesignstheLimit

DesignstheLimit

Inga from FaufulisFashion says:

Personalized button for a baby! This greeting card can be personalized with the baby’s name or birth date on the front of button! Write in the card a greeting, a wish or a poem, sign it and enjoy the pleasure of presentation!

FaufulisFashion

FaufulisFashion

Kelly from ColourscapeStudios says:

I created this bag tag as a thank you for my daughters 3rd birthday, and once I decided that I was going to create my first line of tags and cards to sell here, these were an obvious choice to include. I think having personalized tags on a party bag adds that extra personal touch, which people connect with.

ColourscapeStudios

ColourscapeStudios

Pauls and Daiga from ThreadandPaintStudio says:

This is the first personalized item from the personalized painting series, other items are coming soon. I love to make my customers happy and in the same time create something which is different, not the same like thousands of other copies, that’s why I love to also personalize my items, than I can imagine how would the new owner of the painting look like, it helps to also make the creation more intimate.

ThreadandPaintStudio

ThreadandPaintStudio

Stock Lane Studio from StockLaneStudio says:

As a former teacher, I know they are ALWAYS prepping for school, so even though school’s out, our personalized Welcome signs might be of interest. This Welcome Kindergarten printable sign is designed to be very simple so everyone can read and recognize it, parents, teachers and our youngest learners alike!

StockLaneStudio

StockLaneStudio

Amanda Jaeger from AlphabetArtPrints says:

Everything in my shop is pretty much personalized/customized, and I love it! This in particular is one of my favorites. When my babies were born, one of my favorite things to do was to make sure they had something specific to them and their story for their rooms. I’d like to share this concept with my baby themed alphabet. Anyone can personalize any alphabet to read whatever they would like, but the baby themed alphabet is fun to write out baby’s name and include their birth date and measurements. So sweet!

AlphabetArtPrints

AlphabetArtPrints

Beth Stephens from BethStephensArt says:

Santa Bearing Gifts was painted by Beth Stephens and is offered as a personalized art print. We can add 6 or more names on the blank gift tags. You can add your children, pets, parents, friends, etc. We also can fill in the bottom three gift tags with words too.

Each print is printed on archival linen paper and is matted with a white, acid-free mat. The matted print is protected with a white foam core backing and sealed with a clear wrap bag.

BethStephensArt

BethStephensArt

If you are on Pinterest here is the Summer 2015 Trends board!

While you’re on Pinterest please follow the Etsy Christmas In July team!

2 thoughts on “Summer 2015 Trend: Personalization

Leave a Reply

