Summer 2015 Trend: Classic Children’s Toys

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

I am fascinated by trends. Are you? There are weather trends, work place trends, business trends, job trends, food trends, real estate trends, hair trends, fashion trends color trends and so on.

The definition of a trend is a general direction in which something is developing or changing. In college I took several classes on trends. I remember distinctly studying pre peak – peak – post peak timelines. I find trends intriguing. They pique my curiosity.

Trends unite us. Give us a common ground. A connecting point.

During the #CIJParty 2015 I introduced you to the Summer 2015 Trends. Over the next few days I would like to share the CIJ team member trends in more detail!

The first summer trend we’re going to explore is Classic Children’s Toys. This article is inspired by the Trend Watch Summer 2015 on the Etsy blog.

Ina from InaSudjana says:

Mine would be the 3 Little Pigs finger puppets.

I always prefer old school children toys against technology these days, as I find that there’s a lot more potential to learn than just watching a screen. Nurturing children’s imagination at an early age is a very crucial part of growing healthy.

I create many classic children stories finger puppets and one of them is the 3 Little Pigs and the big bad wolf. We’re going back to the importance of hard-work against minimal effort for instant result.

InaSudjana

InaSudjana

Sue and Misty from shabbyshopgirls says:

Old Maid was (and still is) such a classic game for kids of every age! We grew up playing this game and now the grandchildren play it too! These cards are also being used today for artwork in children’s rooms & nurseries – great way to add playfulness and color as inexpensive wall art.

shabbyshopgirls

shabbyshopgirls

Sally Manke from SallyManke says:

Who doesn’t remember getting the McCall’s Magazine in your childhood household. Each issue had a Betsy McCall paper doll complete with a new wardrobe. Each doll and outfit was carefully cut out and glued to cardboard. These “paper” doll sets are created with fabric for long life.

SallyManke

SallyManke

Rasa Nenart from Toyfifi says:

I think a lot of you will agree that ragdoll is one of the Classic Children’s Toys. As for me ragdoll is a plush toy which is handmade from natural materials (linen, cotton), embroidered by hand and made with a lot of love! So my shop is full with that kind of toys. One of my favorite is Bignose greeny:

Toyfifi

Toyfifi

Amanda Jaeger from AlphabetArtPrints says:

What’s more classic than rubber ducks??

I had a customer request an alphabet entirely made of rubber ducks. It’s a little different than my typical, abstract alphabets, but I love how colorful the letters are! I found these rainbow colored ducks and my 3 year old helped me “draw” letters with them. Such a fun way to decorate any kid’s room!

AlphabetArtPrints

AlphabetArtPrints

If you are on Pinterest here is the Summer 2015 Trends board!

While you’re on Pinterest please follow the Etsy Christmas In July team!

One thought on “Summer 2015 Trend: Classic Children’s Toys

  1. Love these! Excellent grouping that highlights the diversity of #EtsyCIJ team member shops once again! So impressed by the finger puppets from InaSudjana, especially when I found out she makes them herself! Along with “Old Maid”, my Grandmother had other specialized card decks we played with endlessly; my favorite was “Authors”, so ShabbyShopGirls really brought back memories. Sally’s cloth “paper dolls” are terrific, especially with the “storage folder” that allows you to easily bring them along on trip or out to dinner (though I was confused about how the clothes stay on – maybe a picture of the back of the clothing would explain). Toyfifi has inventive, quirky but loveable choices and AlphabetArtPrints graphics that range from the clear form of the rubber duck abc to the abstract, now you see, now you don’t letter forms — well, anyone who likes letters, signs or typography will find a perfect fit there.
    Very well done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

