#CIJParty 2015 – Tutorial: Shabby Mermaid Bust

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFindings

Tutorial For A Shabby Mermaid Bust” – Patricia And Rebecca from northandsouthshabby

Introduction

Recently I was reviewing my Pinterest repins. A comment made on our vintage jewelry anchor caught my eye; “Beach decor-can’t decide if it’s tacky or cool! Shabby Beach/Coastal Cottage style may not be for everyone, but I love it. If you don’t love it, stop reading right here, because you’ll definitely won’t like this project!

DIY Shabby Mermaid Bust

mermaid-bust

My mom found this bust at a salvage shop. Pretty, but it sat there for a while before I decided what I wanted to do with it.

bust-10

Then I thought, how cute would she be if I made her a mermaid?

bust3

Materials Used

A bust. This one was found at a salvage shop.

E6000 adhesive (Don’t even try this with another glue. You’ll have wasted a lot of time.)

A small paintbrush.

Judykin’s Diamond Glaze

Various shells, sea glass, coral

Glue gun/glue sticks

Aluminum foil

Tutorial Directions

Start by squeezing a bit of E6000 onto a piece of foil. Just dab a shell into the E6000, really just a little is all it takes. Squeeze a couple of dots of hot glue on top of the E6000. Press to your figurine for a few seconds. The E6000 forms the permanent bond, the hot glue forms the “fast bond”. Alone, the silicone based E6000 will slide around, but not when topped with the hot glue. Really, try it!

I started my figurine with one of my leftover Vintage Jewelry Starfish from my Christmas sale, and worked my way around her head. I realize not everyone has previously made Vintage Jewelry Starfish lying around, but get creative. An old brooch would look great, or a starfish covered in glass glitter.. or just leave it out. I like that it creates a unique focal point.

bust8

Add, layer, fill in the spots…

bust6

I added Limpet Shells at the bottom to create a “Mermaid Scale” look..

bust5

bust2

Next. You’ll have spider web strands of glue everywhere..anyone that’s ever used a glue gun knows what a pain they are! But did you know if you hit it with a blow dryer, pouf! They’re gone!

close-up

Lastly, add Judykin’s Diamond Glaze. I love this product so much! It’s a very thin, very clear(non-yellowing) adhesive/top coat. It just kind of insures it’ll all stay together. Drip some out of the bottle, and spread out with the paintbrush. Work in small areas, letting dry in between.

bustbetter

Conclusion

And she’s done! Just love how she came out! Now – to sell, or keep?

bust2

Thanks for looking and happy crafting! -Rebecca

Facebook: www.facebook.com/NorthandSouthShabby

Twitter: twitter.com/noandsoshabby

Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/nandsshabby

Website: www.northandsouthshabby.com

Blog: vintagekeywest.wordpress.com

For the next #CIJParty post please see main party post.

2 thoughts on “#CIJParty 2015 – Tutorial: Shabby Mermaid Bust

Leave a Reply

