#CIJParty 2015 – Leather Bags And Accessories Designer Rina

Guest blog post by Rina of RinartsAtelier

Personalizing an item is a wonderful service to offer and is absolutely fun to do! Customers who prefer handmade products are, more than other people, looking for something special, unique. Personalizing a handmade item turns it into the ultimate gift.

RinartsAtelier

RinartsAtelier

I already had a branding tool  for branding my name  in my products, but I had no single letters for this machine. Therefore a handmade monogrammed item was not possible. Consequently I hand stamped the items with initials and colored them by hand. You can see examples of the luggage tags I made for my own suitcase below. But the possibilities in size and typeface were limited and it was a struggle to align the separate letters.

RinartsAtelier

RinartsAtelier

RinartsAtelier

RinartsAtelier

Last year I met an artisan bookbinder who owned an amazing professional letterpress. I  became enthusiastic about the quality of her work with this machine and she did some examples in leather for me. In the time we worked together, I learned a lot from her.
A few months ago I bought a second-hand letterpress (a Marshall) and this hot foil machine is awesome! My husband searched the internet for weeks and found some very nice sets of letters  in upper and lower case.

RinartsAtelier

RinartsAtelier

RinartsAtelier

RinartsAtelier

I looked for more colors hot foil (other than the silver and gold I had up till then) and set out experimenting with the Marshall.

RinartsAtelier

RinartsAtelier

When the new colors hot foil arrived, I immediately tried them out on several of my items and with great results!

RinartsAtelier

RinartsAtelier

RinartsAtelier

RinartsAtelier

RinartsAtelier

RinartsAtelier

The results I yielded with the letterpress inspired me to use other shapes and forms than just the letters. It was a lot of fun print small rounds, hearts and stripes as decoration. I’m really getting the hang of it and look forward to offer i as an extra service to my customers. Especially for this years’ Christmas In July I will be offering a free monogrammed tag with all CJI 2015 orders.

RinartsAtelier

RinartsAtelier

RinartsAtelier

RinartsAtelier

My social media sites:

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/rinarts/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/rinartsbags

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RinartsBags

For the next #CIJParty post please see main party post.

Leave a Reply

