#CIJPopUpMarket #2 – Stock Lane Studio

Contributor post from Dawn at DeeDeeDeesigns
#CIJPopUpMarket #2 Shop – Mary from Stock Lane Studio

StockLaneStudio

StockLaneStudio

1.What is name of your shop and what is unique about your shop?
We are a mother-daughter run shop called Stock Lane Studio. The three of us have a love of travel, words and art. With different ages, talents and perspectives, we are able to offer a variety of art in our store. Our photography, word art, cards, digital art and even poetry reflect those varied skills and interests, but are all linked by the experiences we have had traveling the world.

2. Where do you live and how does where you live influence your creativity?

Right now we live in Upstate New York in an old 170+ year old house. Our house inspired our shop name. We are in love with the natural beauty of this part of New York. Just sitting in my office editing photos and creating new art is a joy when I can look out my window and see wild turkeys, deer and rabbits (and the occasional woodchuck!!) hopping around. You can see the love of our little corner of the world in our nature photography. But we are lucky to be so close to some of the coolest major cities in the US and are having fun being tourists and exploring what they have to offer.

3. What is it about having your own business that you love?

As the CEOE (Chief Executive Of Everything – OK, the mother), I love that I can work at home and still be there to run a family and household. And I can set my own hours which, I’m embarrassed to say, means I can work at 2 in the morning if I am inspired by a great idea. My business keeps me on my toes since I am constantly learning new ways to turn my thoughts into art and collaborate with my daughters to include their projects in the store as well. And I love that I don’t have a boss breathing down my neck to quickly show results. Instead, I can take my time and get a project right before I unveil it. Having this Etsy business has connected me with some wonderful local artists as well. I look forward to working more with so much talent and seeing more of the art our community has to offer.

4. What is your greatest business achievement?

I was really proud when we got our first sale, then our 50th, and then our 100th. Setting short term and long term goals is motivating and encouraging. I was also happy to be contacted by some local artists who though our products were interesting enough to be included in their brick and mortar stores.

5. How would you like to see your business evolve?

I have certain sales volume goals that I’d like us to reach: a sale a day on average is my next short-term goal.

Then, of course, I’d like to make a profit!! This means more than a sale a day since many of our best selling items are cards and printables which sell for less than $10.

Another goal is to sell more photography and fine art prints, but I’m glad we also offer cards and instant download art because, while photographs sell for more, they don’t sell as often. I hope to draw shoppers in to our store with the lower cost items, then keep them browsing and eventually buying our more expensive photography by keeping the front page as beautiful as possible. I try to do that by switching out our nice fine art photos at the top of our first page and then giving shoppers a taste of the best of every section on the rest of the 1st and 2nd pages.

A longer term goal is to branch out and sell more locally and give Etsy Wholesale a try. But only certain SLS products will work for Etsy wholesale if we are to make any profit.

6. What are your social media sites?

Instagram: instagram.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/SLSnyEtsy
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/stocklanestudio/

2 thoughts on “#CIJPopUpMarket #2 – Stock Lane Studio

Leave a Reply

