#CIJPopUpMarket #2 – LeTanuki

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFindings

#CIJPopUpMarket #2 Shop – Juliette from LeTanuki

LeTanuki

LeTanuki

1. What is the name of your shop and what is unique about your shop?

I run “Le TANUKI”, a colorful shop holding my Japan inspired creations. I have been a Japan enthusiast and kimono collector for a long time. While searching for cute accessories for my everyday outfits, I have realized that items often presented a very “classical” feeling –showing nothing of Japan’s modern and dynamic patterns. So, I have decided to create them… using my own arts! People around me have been super receptive, and so here I am starting on Etsy!

2. Where do you live and how does where you live influence your creativity?

I live in France and have worked for a few years in Paris. There, I joined several fashion and home decor brands –including a Japanese group. Those jobs experiences taught me a lot about fashion and clothes – from design to production. Le Tanuki has permitted me to associate this knowledge with my artistic side, as I create all my motifs myself!

3. What is it about having your own business that you love?

It’s both thrilling and frightening! You’re on the boat alone and never truly now what the next wave will bring. But working on your own projects and connecting with fellow creators and art lovers is absolutely amazing. It is really rewarding as it makes me grow up as both an artist and person!

4. What is your greatest business achievement?

Le TANUKI is a very young shop so for the moment: definitely my first sale! But I connect more and more with incredible people, so business put aside, meeting artists from all over the world is getting very precious to me.

5. How would you like to see your business evolve?

I would love to be able to create and sell 2 collections per year – as classical store brands do. Creating new articles (like stationery or linen and cushions) would also be great. Be you know, Le TANUKI is still a toddler, so I am going one step at a time!

6. What are your social media sites?

I run a Japan & Kimono oriented tumblr > tanuki-kimono.tumblr.com/

and also have a Facebook > www.facebook.com/pages/Le-Tanuki/984089304937667

Feel free to join and/or stop to chat!

3 thoughts on “#CIJPopUpMarket #2 – LeTanuki

Leave a Reply

