#CIJPopUpMarket – UruzMetals

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFinding

Virtual PopUpMarket – Joshua from UruzMetals

UruzMetals

UruzMetals

1. What is the name of your shop and what is unique about your shop?

Uruz Metals. Nearly all (about 98%) of my components for my jewelry are hand-made by myself in my shop. All of my designs are my own original concepts that I have been developing since I began metalsmithing in 2002. My final products are eye-catching because they have a different aesthetic from most commercial jewelry suppliers.

2. Where do you live and how does where you live influence your creativity?

I am proud to hail from New Orleans, Louisiana (NOLA)! My art education was at Southern Illinois University, which does not have a rigid project curriculum. There I found the ability to forge my own pathway in terms of design and execution. I was fortunate to have a group of mentors who each added a component to developing my signature style.

I chose to move to NOLA for its strong historical heritage of ornamental iron work. NOLA is a beautiful city full of rich details and a suspended state of decay. Each day I find new architectural components and original art work that lends inspiration to my own work.

Also, the artist community is supported in NOLA, where art is a historical and cultural staple.

3. What is it about having your own business that you love?

Every day I get to do what I love – metal smithing and creating art! As an added bonus, I am my own boss and only have to answer to myself.

4. What is your greatest business achievement?

Being able to quit my 9-5 day job to pursue my freelance metalsmithing studio! There is no greater achievement than owning your own viable business, in my opinion.

5. How would you like to see your business evolve?

Ultimately, I would enjoy being represented by an art gallery in New Orleans. I would also like to expand my business into other realms of metalsmithing, such as industrial furniture and architectural copper work. I have been working in the construction industry since the age of 16, so I would really enjoy melding these two aspects of my life.

6. What are your social media sites?

Website: www.uruzmetals.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/uruzmetals

Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/uruzmetals

One thought on “#CIJPopUpMarket – UruzMetals

Leave a Reply

