#CIJPopUpMarket – NuttierThanASquirrel

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFindings

Virtual PopUpMarket – NuttierThanASquirrel

NuttierThanASquirrel

NuttierThanASquirrel

1. What is the name of your shop and what is unique about your shop?

Nuttier Than A Squirrel! My shop specializes in hand foraged and crafted acorn jewelry. It is quirky, free-spirited, and a little weird … just like squirrels!

2. Where do you live and how does where you live influence your creativity?

My business spouted in 2012 from the heart beautiful southern Illinois, which is surrounded by state and national parks. I am

a bit of a naturalist and hiking enthusiast. I found myself collecting beautiful organic objects and wanted to create wearable art out of them. Voi la! Nuttier Than A Squirrel was born.

About two months ago, I moved from my beautiful forest to New Orleans in the hopes to pursue art full-time. While I’m no longer surrounded by the woods, I have found myself amidst some of the most creative folks in the United States.

There will be a new line of acorn adornments planned for this fall, which will naturally feature the acorns from the sprawling live oaks that shade my parkway.

3. What is it about having your own business that you love?

I love the freedom that it affords and that I no longer have to commute to work. It is priceless to spend my days with my family pursuing our dreams.

4. What is your greatest business achievement?

I opened my Etsy shop last August. Surviving the first holiday season was quite the accomplishment, because I quickly found that it started much earlier for me since I carry an iconic autumn product! I plotted and planned for the rush, but I had no idea of how busy I would be with my online sales in addition to my already scheduled art markets, trunk sales, and consignment locations. I cannot wait for this coming fall!

5. How would you like to see your business evolve?

I would like to pursue wholesale partnerships in the near(ish) future.

6. What are your social media sites?

Facebook: www.facebook.com/nuttierthanasquirrel

Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/chrystalnause

One thought on “#CIJPopUpMarket – NuttierThanASquirrel

Leave a Reply

