#CIJPopUpMarket #1 – Bungalow42

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFindings

Virtual PopUpMarket – Connie from Bungalow42

Bungalow42

Bungalow42

1. What is the name of your shop and what is unique about your shop?

Bungalow42

My “seriously whimsical adornments” pair sterling silver findings, gemstones, seashells, pearls, vintage and handcrafted beads from around the world with delicate but sturdy plastic chain, silk thread and waxed linen.

I have always been drawn to fun, whimsical pieces but the quality of the findings and the workmanship was always important.

Weight and humor is a major focus in my work. I strive to create lightweight pieces that won’t weigh you down but will hopefully make you smile.

An instructor who was reviewing my work summed it up stunningly. She said that the pairing of sterling silver findings with vintage beads, shells, freshwater pearls and plastic chain conveyed a “take me seriously” element. I was struck by how easily she succinctly described what I was trying, albeit unknowingly, to achieve.

2. Where do you live and how does where you live influence your creativity?

Austin, Texas

I have to admit this is not something to which I have given much thought… but I think that people are a primary source of inspiration and endless fascination in my work and in my life. Austin, whose motto is “Keep Austin Weird”, is truly a treasure trove of talented, creative, fun and weird (in a good way) people.

Also known as the “Music Capital of the World”, Austin has a seemingly endless well of gifted musicians whose music ranges widely and delivers daily inspiration. When I am lucky enough to carve out some bench time in my day, music is always playing and much of that soundtrack is peppered with Texas flavor.

3. What is it about having your own business that you love?

The pure joy derived from the creative process and the ability to share my offbeat vision. In deciding to open my Etsy shop, to take that next step or giant leap off a cliff, depending on the day’s mind set, I thought about how intriguing it would be to make pieces for people I do not know and will likely never know.

4. What is your greatest business achievement?

Opening my Etsy shop. While that may seem a bit low on the “GREAT” meter, it was a huge achievement to me. I spent well over a year researching successful Etsy shops, working on my photography skills and copy writing techniques before launching the shop.

Getting the shop open and having total strangers purchase and appreciate my work is my greatest achievement thus far in this relatively short journey. I am eager to see what the future holds.

5. How would you like to see your business evolve?

My goals for the business are modest. My pieces are mostly made from vintage and/or limited stock. I have no desire to create the same piece over and over again. My work is not going to appeal to a massive audience. Not everybody is going to intuit plastic or bookbinding thread as serious jewelry components. My goal is to find that niche group of people with similar sensibilities.

6. What are your social media sites?

Facebook: www.facebook.com/Bungalow42

Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/Bungalow42

Webstite: www.bungalow42.com

Twitter: www.twitter.com/Bungalow_42

One thought on “#CIJPopUpMarket #1 – Bungalow42

Leave a Reply

