June – National Ocean Month

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFindings

Around the world June is celebrated as Ocean Month. Since Oceans make up approximately 70% of the Earth, is it any wonder that we celebrate it? There are many ways to participate in this holiday, including using the Sea as inspiration.

I wondered ” How do we in Christmas in July Team take inspiration from the Ocean, Sea Life and other such creatures?”

Wendy Joy of wjoydesigns said:

I grew up by the ocean in California.When I am homesick and missing the smell of salt air, the sound of waves gently rolling onto the sand and the call of the seagulls in the wind. I am inspired to make pieces that remind me of these feelings. I use blues and whites. I use things that are natural and the color of sand. Occasionally I will use found items from my many visits to the beach through my childhood, such as sea glass and shells from my personal collection!

il_170x135.705210183_mcy0

Lin Collette of rhodyart states:

I don’t have much occasion to incorporate the sea in my work, though I’ve done larger pieces that refer to the ocean and the life that thrives in it. The only real connection the items I sell in my shop have to the ocean is if they’re pirate themed, and thus I present one of those here.

Pirate themes are a tribute to my brother, Will, who has changed his birthday celebrations to Talk Like a Pirate Day on September 19.

il_170x135.650088836_ibt2 (1)

Lia Russo of Ghirlandiamo says:

My town, Salerno, is on Mediterranean Sea, part of Atlantic Ocean. All my crafts are strongly influenced by this, as you can see from the colors l use. What l love living on the sea is that my view, at least in one direction, has no limits.

Furthermore, even in hot summer, the temperature is more bearable, because of the sea breeze. I think l couldn’t live anywhere else without sea.

This is my most recent item and I think it confirms all l said here.

 il_170x135.786364927_7wwx

Dawn Whitehand of DeeDeeDeesigns states:

Currently I live  in a rural central Victoria about four hours from the ocean – which is a lot for me.

As a child I grew up on the coast in a sleepy country town, which is now a tourist metropolis!

This early influence, I think, influences a lot of the color choices I make in the glazes I apply to my works such as the blue on this ceramic bowl.

il_170x135.778368441_1unl
Kelly of ColourscapeStudios explains:
I adore the beach, it’s my go to place when I need a wander, a pick me up or a fun time! It features often in my work, my photography work seems to center around it often. Sunset at the beach brings me back to my inner self, it relaxes and enchants me with the colors, the sights and the sounds.
il_170x135.777628597_d3ls
Connie Lee of Bungalow42 tells me:
Growing up in Texas I spent a lot of time on Galveston Island as a child.
As a teenager I visited beaches all along the gulf coast. My high school boyfriend was an avid surfer who tried (in vain) to teach me to surf. I was generally happier walking the shoreline looking for shells, dashing in and out of the surf or napping on the sand.
As an adult I have been fortunate to live on both the east and west coast. The ocean continues to be a significant influence in my life and my work.
il_170x135.683048321_4wvd
Annie of DesignedbyAnneliese said:
I live in Australia and it takes at least 1.5 hours to get to the beach! When I was little we used it go on family holidays every year over Christmas (when it is summer holidays) and stay right near the beach. I loved it! While these gift tags do not feature anything from the ocean, the colors remind me of how lovely the sea and the beach are.
il_170x135.767065793_kbhz
 Katrina of BygoneAllure states:

I live in Hobart, Tasmania and a short distance from spectacular family friendly beaches. I get my exercise, breathe in the salt air, cleanse my senses and get direction and clarity by being close to the ocean. The ocean and nature oxygenate me. I feel so lucky to have this access to Nature.

The beauty of nature inspires me in my whole outlook. I love to beach comb and collect beautiful items like shells and driftwood. My favorite colors are Green and Blue which for me represent air, nature, earth. One of my favorite materials is Paua Shell / Abalone and I seek out fine Vintage Jewelry pieces with this natural material.

il_170x135.789528974_tm0t

Iefrenchgem told me:

I live less than a mile from the beach in Fort Myers Beach, FL in the winter, and SW France in the summer. I go for long walks on the beach here in France collecting sea glass for my one of a kind pieces that I sell at shows, and I find the most wonderful photo props right on the beach (like the driftwood props in the photos below). Even the crystals that I use remind me of the light dancing on the waters surface. I can’t imagine not living near the ocean. I am constantly in awe of it’s beauty and magnificence.

il_170x135.786942394_81mf
Pauls and Daiga of ThreadsandPaintStudio states:
We live in Latvia, far, far away from Ocean, but very near to Baltic sea. I couldn’t imagine live without possibility to get into car and drive to beach. Many of our works are inspired from water theme. We tray to show our landscapes with sandy beach, but it could also be ocean view, sea view, lake view.
il_170x135.782719990_dlfi
Inga of FaufulisFashion explains:
I live in Latvia near to the sea. My all time favorite place to be is the beach!
il_170x135.734110879_n47c

I would say that the water,especially the Ocean inspires many of us to create. It could be because of our love, awe or wonder at what it’s depths hold.

Get up, get out and let the water near you inspire your creations!

2 thoughts on “June – National Ocean Month

Leave a Reply

