June – Great Outdoors Month

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFindings

“Great Outdoors Month is a time for all to share in the natural splendor of which we are all proud inheritors. Whether camping, fishing, rock climbing, or playing in a neighborhood park, nature offers each of us the opportunity to get active, explore, and strengthen our bonds with family and friends. This month, let us celebrate our natural heritage by experiencing it together.”

Carrie of madcapz says:

I’m getting ready to do some amazing hiking with my family!

il_170x135.786303540_bdet

Wendy Joy of wjoydesigns states:

In June, our family begins to celebrate nature by going on many camping trips! This is where I get a lot of my inspiration for my creations and sometimes even items from our mother Earth to make them with! I look for unique stones along the rivers and lakes to use in my designs and pick flowers to press and use later on when they are dried. While camping, I have the time to slow down and connect with my inner voice. I bring my craft supplies with me in case I am inspired to create while in beautiful surroundings! I believe that this adds peaceful energy to my works and that those feelings can be passed to the wearer of my pieces

il_170x135.784698056_690s

Lin Collette of rhodyart said:

Gosh, I’m a dedicated city girl, I hate bugs, hate camping, and can’t build a campfire to save my life. I even hate S’mores. That said, when I have the chance to walk with my brother through Ninigret Park in Charlestown, Rhode Island – its nature preserve – I am in awe at what I see, the wildflowers, the trees in fantastical shapes because they’re in a salt marsh and affected by the salt in some way, and so on. I love flowers and am always taking photos of flowers on my camera. I admire those who garden and those who go trekking.

Just don’t ask me to go along. This item is inspired by Downton Abbey’s Mr. Bates and Anna. I imagine that they love to go on long walks, in spite of Mr. Bates’ leg injury, and I would love to think they’re long romantic walks.

il_170x135.547551401_jb1f

Melissa R of missy69 discusses:

It starts getting really hot here in June, in Florida. We are in a heat advisory, already, for this weekend. We do have a pool, but we love to visit our local springs and ocean beaches. One of my favorite things is to turn pictures we take into paintings.

il_170x135.782713631_7hc6

Kelly of ColourscapeStudios says:

We go into winter here in Australia, so for me it means wrapping myself up in several layers and heading out with my camera before dawn to one of my favorite photography spots to enjoy the sunrise. Watching the fog lift off the lake is a wonderful sight and I love capturing it every possible chance.

il_170x135.762850737_ok94

Dawn Whitehand of DeeDeeDeesigns discussed:

I used to do a lot of camping many years ago – but these days like the comfort of my own bed!!

However, I have maintained an appreciation of the outdoors, especially while living on 10 acres in a rural part of Australia.

Many of my original art gift cards are inspired by the great outdoors, such as this one!

il_170x135.441804358_45ip

Not only is there a lot of nature and beauty in our crafts, but there is so much more in the Great Outdoors!

Get up, get out and enjoy your time outdoors.

One thought on “June – Great Outdoors Month

Leave a Reply

