Treasury Challenge Winner March – DeeDeeDeesigns

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFindings

On Etsy many shop owners curate treasuries. A treasury is a curated shop gallery comprised  of 16 items from any shop.  Most of the time they are done by theme, color or anything you can imagine.

The Christmas in July team has challenges to create treasuries centered on themes of our choosing. We then pick a winner based on views, creativity and the like.

The March winner is DeeDeeDeesigns who loves abstract sculptures and mixed media art.

1. What made you decide to start a shop?

I opened my shop in 2010 out of curiosity to see how it worked, but didn’t actually list anything until 2012 after i had an accident and chopped off a finger! It’s all sewn back on, but the recovery time was long and I couldn’t make the artwork I had normally been making – large ceramic sculptures and mixed media artworks. So I decided to make some smaller things such as jewellery and small hand built not on the pottery wheel dishes and listed these in my shop. Since then I have continued trying to build my stock and turn it into a small business.

il_170x135.595845845_t6ld

2. How do you enjoy nature?

I am lucky enough to live on 10 acres in a rural area of Australia and am surrounded by trees. This I love because it inspires my artwork, but also the trees attract so much wildlife, such as many different birds, lizards, possums and koalas. I could never go back to living in a city environment – not by choice anyway.

il_170x135.761215726_7bqg

3. How did you get into ceramics?

I was introduced to ceramics by a friend who wanted me to join a hobby class at a community centre with her – time out from the kids. Within a year I was teaching at the community center and it has grown from there. I even went back to University to formalize my qualifications in art, and now teach from my studio as well as visiting schools, kinders and community centers.

I also continue making and exhibiting my own artwork as well as maintain my Esy shop.

il_170x135.762673168_st4c

4. How do you use social media for your business?

I use social media to promote my products and also to share
other products I like or those of team members – I especially do this on twitter.

il_170x135.762411501_n5rn

5. Please list your social media links.

www.facebook.com/deedeedeesignsaustralia
www.twitter.com/deedeedeesigns
www.instagram.com/dawnwhitehand
plus.google.com/u/0/+DawnWhitehand
www.pinterest.com/dawnwhitehand
dawnwhitehand.wordpress.com

This shop is a great mix of small home decor, jewelry and so much more. You should check out her amazing decor items!

One thought on “Treasury Challenge Winner March – DeeDeeDeesigns

Leave a Reply

