International Day For Families – May 15th

Contributor Post by Dawn from DeeDeeDeesigns

International Day for Families is May 15th and I asked team members what family means to them and what item from their Etsy shop reflected this sentiment.

Sue and Misty from Shabbyshopgirls says:

When we were small we would always have a family game night – Scrabble, Monopoly, Sorry, or our all time favorite – OLD MAID! Game night is a great way for the family to interact and have a good time doing something fun together!

il_570xN.752601213_t9n9

ShabbyShopGirls

Christine Parker from ModernImpressionist says:

Our family loves going to the Jersey shore in the summertime. These beach cottages were steps from the boardwalk in Pt. Pleasant Beach. There is a lot of fun for families of all ages to swim and do games at the boardwalk and try some tasty summertime treats.

il_570xN.762506107_9ob1

ModernImpressionist

Kristen Sargent from KestrelCollection says:

I have an aunt that is good at every craft. Name something and she probably does it.

I have fond memories of summer days spent at her house making wreathes from honey suckle gathered in her backyard. One summer we harvested beautiful china from thrift stores to break it and make a mosaic table top.

In winter she would teach me crafts indoors like crochet and painting. Crochet was the hardest and my little hands just couldn’t seem to make it work.

Just this year I started trying again and finally (!) figured it out. I made these earrings in celebration and feel that the wearer will always have a piece of my Aunt’s heart for sharing and creating traveling with them.

il_570xN.762596666_gef4

KestrelCollection

Ina from InaSudjana says:

This family of bears – dad, mom and baby bear – basically represents our household. With our parents living in Indonesia, we only have each other and we take care of each other – my husband and I and our little girl. We do things as a family, we go as a family, we decide as a family and NO ONE gets left behind…

I cannot imagine though if we suddenly see ‘Goldilock’ sleeping in our little one’s bed…

il_570xN.585598974_p8w6

InaSudjana

Annie from DesignedbyAnneliese says:

When I was younger, my sister and I like to play a little game. When we were both in our bedrooms having ‘rest time’ or doing school work, we would write little notes to each other or make little things out of paper on our desks. We would slip these under each other’s bedroom doors. It was a lot of fun seeing what she would write / make next! These mini envelopes would be perfect for this fun game! They would also make great little lunch box notes for children for school!

I am so very thankful to have my sister! We have had a lot of fun times together and we are always there for each other.
il_570xN.743771565_i5ma

DesignedbyAnneliese

Patricia from TheOldBarnDoor says:

As a collector of vintage and antique ephemera, I come across many old photos of families and often am left wondering about their lives. Many of the photos are set in a portrait studio so you just know the moment in time was important enough to capture and preserve. These family photos hold a special place for those interested in genealogical research and they capture and preserve our past in such a special way.

il_570xN.619355775_rl66

TheOldBarnDoor

Lin Collette from rhodyart says:

I’m aware that this might be a controversial choice. I thought long and hard about how to answer the question posed in this thread with an item, as I grew up in a very dysfunctional, disturbed family and I really don’t have many positive family memories that I can reflect via any of my creations. I’ve also never had a family of my own, never raised a child, although I do have relatives.

However, I believe that families are important and that families come in all manners and types. And towards that end I’ve started creating cards that celebrate gay parents, such as this mother’s day card.rhodyart

rhodyart

Lia Russo from Ghirlandiamo says:

When I was a little child I lived with my family in a village and we often had a walk in the country.

With many little friends of mine in spring we rolled over where we thought was only grass. But they were indeed ….still green cornfields !

And once a farmer has been really near to shoot us! ahahahah

I have a lot of nice memories about those first years of my childhood, memories that inspired me to create this cheerful summer country landscape; looking it I can even hear cicadas singing!Ghirlandiamo

Ghirlandiamo

One thought on “International Day For Families – May 15th

Leave a Reply

