Teacher Appreciation Week May 4-8, 2015

Contributor post by Amy of BeadsAndThreadsbyAmy

“Let us think of education as the means of developing our greatest abilities, because in each of us there is a private hope and dream which, fulfilled, can be translated into benefit for everyone and greater strength for our nation.”
John F. Kennedy

“One looks back with appreciation to the brilliant teachers, but with gratitude to those who touched our human feelings. The curriculum is so much necessary raw material, but warmth is the vital element for the growing plant and for the soul of the child.”
Carl Jung

What teachers touched your life?  Had an impact? Inspired you to do what you never thought possible?  The Christmas in July Team shares some of their stories and appreciation gift ideas with you this month….

1) Sarah Johnson from BellaBoutique23 says

Mrs. Thorne was such a wonderful teacher, she was my 5th grade teacher and she lived down the street from me. I would go knock on her door to see Thurman, her cat, I saved numerous little sweet notes she would write to me. It was a friendship that lasted through the years. I was in her wedding, went to visit her in Chicago. I am very thankful for how she embraced and loved me.

2) Sally Manke from SallyManke says

What a great idea. I’m a retired teacher and have a daughter that teaches 3 grade and a son in law that teaches 6th grade math. I started kindergarten in 1958 in a one room school. We had one teacher for grades K-8. The school closed after 7th grade when we had to attend “town” school. I actually learned to read in the Dick, Jane, Sally readers.

3) Patricia and Rebecca from northandsouthshabby says

Like Sally above, I am a retired school teacher-and yes I too learned to read with Dick and Jane! When I started my career, new students were expected to enter 1st grade knowing the alphabet. When I retired some 30 years later, students entered my classroom already reading! There have been so many changes in education through the years, and the demands on teachers have increased ten fold. Please know that a note of appreciation to your child’s teacher can make their day!
 4) Lia Russo from Ghirlandiamo says

My mother, my father, my two sisters and my husband, all they were/are teachers!

Even me, some years ago, working as communication consultant, I taught apprentices and managers.

It was really gratifying!

If I should think of a gift to teachers, I’ll say: flowers, flowers, flowers!

And what better than a wreath with permanently fresh flowers?

5) Dawn Whitehand from DeeDeeDeesigns says

I am a teacher in that I teach pottery from my studio to adults and children, and also visit schools, kinders and community centres. While teaching ‘pays the bills’ it also keeps the inspiration going and does have an impact on my own ideas and motivation – so its a win win!!

This hand carved ceramic trinket box would make a great teachers gift to keep little treasures safe – your child could even write a message and place it inside before giving!

6) Melissa And Wendy from OrneMental says

I am home schooling my grandson for his kindergarten year. It is such a joy especially when you see the light bulb go off. He is really starting to do very well in reading!

teacher-appreciation

2 thoughts on “Teacher Appreciation Week May 4-8, 2015

Leave a Reply

