Social Media And Its Impact On Your Small Business

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFindings

Social media are  tools that allow people to create, share or exchange information, ideas, and pictures/videos in virtual communities and networks.

These tools are a great way for Small Business to network, publish and market their works.

Christmas in July team asked how Social media impact their business and also what they use it for.

Social Media Icons

Social Media Icons

Nancy Duncan of EponasCrystals states:

I use pinterest, facebook, twitter and amazine. Just started on tumblr.

I seem to have the best response on pinterest, but that is also my favorite.

Facebook doesn’t bring in much traffic at all, but I don’t devote much time to it.

I post my items from my shop. Basically use it as advertising, although I do reciprocate with LIKES, follows, etc. I just don’t get much interaction.

Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/eponascrystals/
Facebook: www.facebook.com/crystalsbyepona
Tumblr: eponascrystals.tumblr.com/
Twitter: twitter.com/eponascrystals
Amazine: www.amazine.com/user/eponascrystals

 

AliciasFindings says:

I use my social media accounts to network with other sellers,so I can learn things to help my shop grow.
I also use it to publish my items-usually on facebook and pinterest.

I use pinterest as a marketing helper by finding all kinds of business tutorials and info so I can use it in my shop or for my shop.

Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/AliciasFindings

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Alicias-Findings/113535328774145

Wanelo: http://wanelo.com/aliciasfindings

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/111140267387525827813/posts

 

Lin Collette of rhodyart lets me know:

I have a love-hate relationship with social media because I really am not sure it’s worth the time and effort.

My Facebook page (facebook.com/rhodyart) is where I really do like to post things, but it’s not just my work I’ve wanted to post. Rather, I like to share information on art and such. Problem is that people don’t seem to be interested – or FB doesn’t like the posts (more likely). But I really would like to see FB as an interactive tool – it’s just not working out that way.

I’m trying to become more enthusiastic about Pinterest (pinterest.com/rhodyart) and need to radically overhaul my boards, clean out the old stuff, add the new.

I also use Twitter but admit to its limited effectiveness because tweets number in the millions – one is lucky to get one view for a tweet I think. I don’t often tweet directly but, rather, have my FB page set up so that FB posts are automatically tweeted. (twitter.com/rhodyart).

I’m still trying to determine what other social media I want to use. I’d like to use Instagram but again, I think the volume of posts outweighs its usefulness. I also hate that I’d have to use my smartphone to post since I haven’t mastered the fine art of copying links anywhere.

I haven’t used Tumblr enough to judge its usefulness either.

 

Heather of CallunaMuse talks about:

I am a Pinterest addict, so it is a mix for me, between posting my shop items, and pinning my interests like a mad woman. It’s hard to tell how much traffic I get from it, but it is relatively low maintenance, so I plan to continue with it.
www.pinterest.com/CallunaMuse

I don’t use my facebook business page as much because it hasn’t been the best social media medium for me. I have tried the paid posts in the past and they don’t generate the interest I think paid ads should. And when only five people are ‘allowed’ to see your post, it seems rather silly to put too much effort into it.
www.facebook.com/CallunaMuse

I do use twitter quite a bit. I post my items, and I retweet things that interest me. I like using it, but it moves so fast sometimes!
www.twitter.com/CallunaMuse

I just started up an instagram, and I am excited to use it more. I have gotten as far as a profile pic so far haha but right now I am just getting used to the navigation, and checking out everyone else’s! I think I am most excited to use this one, as everyone keeps saying that it has made a huge difference in sales and traffic for them.
www.instagram.com/callunamuse

I am also using other avenues like wanleo, and bestie. Again, I’m not sure of the usefulness yet, but for me, I like to get myself out there wherever I can.

 

AngsanaSeedsPhoto posts:

Of all my social media accounts, I use my Facebook business page the most. I use it primarily to post my shop items, promotion and share daily photos. I will also pay for Facebook ad depending on the post and response. I also use it to network with sellers. www.facebook.com/AngsanaSeeds

I do use twitter, but mostly to retweet photography-related post. twitter.com/angsanaseeds

I also use Pinterest, but not as much because I find it very addictive and am not sure how much sales it generated for me. www.pinterest.com/angsanaseeds/

Instagram is one social media that I plan to get more enthusiastic with. instagram.com/angsanaseeds/

 

Dawn Whitehand of DeeDeeDeesigns said:

I use social media to post my new products. I then also share these to groups and communities (facebook & google).

I used to use Facebook the most, but with the changes to Facebook with the visibility of posts to fans I have began exploring the use of other sites more.

I use twitter to promote my products and also to share fellow team mates posts and team posts.

So it is also a networking thing.

This does drive traffic to my shop, though maybe not so much sales – but my understanding is that the Etsy logarithms (which are always changing) take into account traffic. So even if sales aren’t necessarily generated, the increased traffic makes my shop more ‘visible’ on Etsy.

My understanding also is that this increased traffic increases your visibility on Google.

I also maintain a blog where I post general posts about my artwork and also posts specific to my Etsy shop. I also have direct links to my shop from my blog, which I also have on my Facebook page.

I use Pinterest to post my products and cross reference them on boards – for example I have a ‘My Jewellery’ board, but also have a ‘Jewellery’ board where I post other jewellery, but also post my jewellery randomly amongst the other posts. i am also on several group boards, and do get quite a few repins from these boards, and a reasonable number of shop clicks.

My most recent venture has been instagram and have only been on it for about six months…. I do get a reasonable amount of ‘likes’ and am unsure of the traffic drive at this point – but its a fun medium.

Blog dawnwhitehand.wordpress.com
Facebook www.facebook.com/deedeedeesignsaustralia
Twitter www.twitter.com/deedeedeesigns
Google+ plus.google.com/u/0/+DawnWhitehand
Pinterest www.pinterest.com/dawnwhitehand
Instagram www.instagram.com/dawnwhitehand

Leave a Reply

