Arbor Day

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFindings

Arbor Day  is a holiday in which individuals and groups are encouraged to plant and care for trees. Today, many countries observe such a holiday. The first American Arbor Day was originated in Nebraska City, Nebraska by J. Sterling Morton. On April 10, 1872, an estimated one million trees were planted in Nebraska. Arbor Day is April 24th, 2015 (last Friday in April). I asked members of Team Christmas in July “How do you celebrate this Holiday or How could you celebrate it?”

Nancy Duncan of EponasCrystals says:

When I was little we always received trees at school to take home and plant. I still plant trees when I can, but I also live out in the country and can put them anywhere on 20 acres!

il_170x135.683210406_he3x

Valerie Brown of FirepanJewellery states:

We don’t have Arbor day in Canada, however I think a day to celebrate trees is a good idea! There really is nothing like a walk in the woods to de-stress. I’m a birdwatcher, so of course trees are a big part of that hobby. It’s also a fun activity to get kids involved in – taking them out on a nature walk can include identifying trees (which is always doable because they stay still!) and birds (which is a harder, because they are often hiding in the trees). Trees are vitally important to birds as areas to find food and nest.

il_170x135.746082711_gypr

Dawn Whitehand of DeeDeeDeesigns said:

We don’t have Arbor day in Australia either, but I do live on 10 acres in a rural area with lots of trees, and I love them, so I do think a tree appreciation day is a good idea! This original art greeting card features a pen on ink drawing of some little seed pods from a tree in my garden…

il_170x135.441804358_45ip

NauticoCreations talks about:

I remember when I was younger I thought how cool it would be that when you buy a house you could own your own tree. Trees have always been a sign of strength and beauty. Although I don’t have an Arbor Day tradition, I do have respect for trees. The faux succulent arrangement in my shop actually has a piece of a fallen tree in its design. It’s nice to be able to add a natural element to the arrangement.

il_170x135.635257814_lsss

Whether you plant a tree, take care of some trees, educate others of their importance; please do something! Trees are so important and very beautiful to look at!

One thought on “Arbor Day

  1. Admiring our stately maple tree awash in spring green from the window in my studio as I read this… thanks to all for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

