Member Feature: Ankleknits

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Please join us in welcoming Sandra of Ankleknits, our featured member!

Ankleknits

Ankleknits

Tell us about yourself.       

I lived in Branson MO for 5 years now and I love it. My family and I come from Northen Europe where I lived all my childhood and school years. At school we had mandatory classes where we learned different life skills like cooking, sewing, weaving, knitting, crocheting and also gardening.

At home my grandmother was a great knitter and she helped me a lot with knitting especially.

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I opened my business in September 2013. Before the store opening I knitted and crocheted  different outfits for my family and for my self. I gave handmade gifts in birthday’s to my friends like scarves and hats. People just started to ask me where I am selling my items and that was the point where I decided to sell it on Etsy.Ankleknits

Tell us a bit about your products.           

Before I starting to make something I put a lot of  thoughts and love in it! I would carefully choose what yarn to get and what pattern to use for it.Ankleknits1

In my shop you will find high quality accessories  for ladies and girls. There is also some kitchen accessories what I made.Ankleknits2

What inspires your work?           

I’m getting a lot of inspiration from nature, weather and fashion magazines of course. Usually when seasons changes my mind is full of ideas what to make.

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business?         

My dream and goal for this year is to expand more in style, color and size.

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

I think my business stands out from another similar businesses with my cute ankle warmers.Ankleknits3

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

Well a separate studio should be in my future plan!

But I have a separate work space for now where I can make my dreams come true. It’s a lighted corner with a soft couch in my room. All of my beautiful yarn is kept in closed bins in a shelf.

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

I have learned a lot about pricing and shipping from forums and teams! I wish I would know that since opening.

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

My advice before selling on Etsy is do the careful research all about the product you want to sell, how to price and ship your items and who is your target market to be?

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?

When I am not working on my project I relax with my children, we love walking, going to park and eating out. One of my hobbies are photography. I love taking photos of nature, flowers, animals.

I also love gardening! I can’t wait for spring to come when I will plant some vegetables and flowers. My youngest son loves peas!

In Summer we usually go to lake to swim. It’s so much fun!

What is your favorite quote?

Love what you do and do what you love!

That’s my favorite quote.

Where can people find out more about your business?  

People can follow me on Twitter:
www.Twitter.com/ Sandra_crochet

Instagram:
www.Instagram.com/Ankleknits

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Ankleknits/312284485631412?

Etsy:
https://www.etsy.com/shop/Ankleknits

  Is there anything else you’d like to share?         

Thank you CIJ leaders and all the Etsy members and leaders for helping with sales and to be featured in this blog.

________
If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

Leave a Reply

