Member Feature: mscenna

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Please join us in welcoming Marjorie of mscenna, our featured member!

mscenna

mscenna

Tell us about yourself.       

I have a background in education and love teaching and working with children.  I work as a full-time preschool teacher and part-time museum instructor.  I am also Mom to three children who are now in high school and college.

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I will celebrate three years on Etsy in March!  I have enjoyed making jewelry off and on for many years and have loved making things for others. My friends and family encouraged me to try selling some of my items which led me to joining Etsy.

Tell us a bit about your products.           

I make a variety of jewelry items, ornaments and wine charms all from a mix of beads, buttons, vintage jewelry pieces and recycled objects.MScenna

MScenna1

What inspires your work?           

I love searching for materials at flea markets, yard sales and vintage shops so my inspiration and ideas come from the materials and treasures that I find!  When I look at something and take it apart, an idea for something happens.  A vintage earring may become a pendant or a chain from a necklace may turn into a bracelet.  I am always changing and moving things around until they seem to fit.MScenna2

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business?         

I plan to continue selling my jewelry at local craft shows and fairs, throughout the year, in addition to my Etsy shop. I have enjoyed making and adding ornaments and sun catchers to my shop this year and hope to try creating some other decorative items too.  I would love to expand to repurposing housewares and larger items one day.MScenna3

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

While many people make and sell jewelry, my pieces are truly unique.  Because each item starts with vintage and repurposed materials, the finished product is unusual and one of a kind.  I am also happy to alter my items or create one of a kind custom pieces for people.

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

I have carved out a small area of my family room for storage but my work space is my home and includes my kitchen and dining room tables or my outdoor table in the warmer weather!  I like to leave things out because I never know when I will feel inspired to make something!MScenna4

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

I wish I had known how many hours I would be putting into this! I have learned that it takes a lot of hours and hard work to get a shop up and running while trying to work full-time too.

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

Etsy is a great vehicle for selling your craft but it is large and can be overwhelming.  I have learned an amazing amount of information from other sellers so I would strongly suggest joining teams.  They provide support, help and forums for discussing topics.  I have become connected to some really great people!

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?

I love to keep busy – crafting, cooking and baking are some of my favorite things!

What is your favorite quote?

“Play is the work of children” – Jean Piaget

Where can people find out more about your business?  

In addition to my Etsy shop, people can find my jewelry on facebook and pinterest: https://www.facebook.com/MScennaJewelryCreations
https://www.pinterest.com/mscenna/MScenna5

  Is there anything else you’d like to share?         

Always have fun!

________
If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

One thought on “Member Feature: mscenna

Leave a Reply

