Member Feature: Cloes Closet

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Please join us in welcoming Cloe of Cloes Closet, our featured member!

Cloes Closet

CloesCloset

Tell us about yourself.       

I was born in Pittsburgh, PA, but my family moved to Arizona when I was about 4 1/2, and I’ve lived out west all my life.  I love the desert, the mountains, and living in Las Vegas.  I’ve worked in business for many years, as an escrow officer, and as an insurance agent, selling health and Medicare insurance products.  After living many years with fibromyalgia, and chronic fatigue syndrome, its great to have my own business!

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I opened my shop January 17, 2011, but didn’t start stocking it until about June or July of that year.  I originally opened the shop to “de-stash” my collections of sewing patterns, magazines, and counted cross stitch patterns, and now its grown to a full time business.

Tell us a bit about your products.           

Cloes Closet is filled with wonderful sewing patterns, from vintage to modern, vintage items I’ve found, and jewelry I or a friend have made… its pretty eclectic!   My favorite patterns are the Vogue designer patterns, especially the Vogue Paris Originals, and the Vogue American Designers.CC

CC1

Its amazing that some of these patterns have survived over the years… and that there are so many people who  sew, or have collections of sewing patterns.  I have had so many comments from buyers, who had been looking for a certain pattern for years, or who wanted to make a special garment for a wedding or a party, or just to wear.  Most of us can’t afford a garment from a Paris runway, or even an American one, but we can dream a little, and make our own version! CC2

And, since you might need a great accessory to go with the wonderful outfit you just finished, I’ve added vintage accessories to the shop.CC3

CC4

I love making jewelry and beading, some of my personal creations!CC5

CC6

What inspires your work?           

I have always loved fashion and sewing, and have made many garments over the years, both for myself and as gifts.  I love the history of sewing patterns, and the special art that graces many pattern envelopes.

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business?         

I want to find more wonderful sewing patterns to sell, and create some more awesome jewelry.

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

Providing great customer service, and loving what I do!

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

I have a craft room, where the computer lives, and my sewing patterns are stored.  I also have a big rolling stand full of beads for making jewelry, and usually end up beading at the kitchen table, or at Sweet Beads, a great Las Vegas beading store.

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

How hard it is to get great photos!

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

Jump in, the water is fine!

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?

I love beading, reading a good mystery, and probably too much trashy TV!

What is your favorite quote?

Being happy doesn’t mean that everything is perfect. it means that you’ve decided to look beyond the imperfections.

Where can people find out more about your business?  

My Store:  http://CloesCloset.etsy.com
My Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/#!/CloesCloset
Pinterest:  http://pinterest.com/cloecessna/

________
If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

3 thoughts on “Member Feature: Cloes Closet

  1. I spent a lot of hours with Vogue Designer Patterns, I was so drawn to the image of style they create — even managed to finish at least a portion of the many I purchased before coming to the conclusion I liked patterns and fabric more than sewing and completing a garment! So nice to see out-of-date ones living on to go to new homes! Such a fun shop you have!

    Like

Leave a Reply

