#CIJArtGallery – SSFDesigns

Contributor post by Megha of byTheArtBug

Virtual Art Gallery – SSFDesigns

1.What is your work of art?

My work that I am sharing is a costume a commission I was contacted to create

SSFDesigns

SSFDesigns

2. Please share your inspiration for this piece.

I was asked to make a period dress but I needed to make it look old as if the person wearing was not among the living . This was a challenge . I first took some fabric dyed it a pale yellow color something that at one time was bright and beautiful , then I cut the pattern some of the pieces where large and I dyed then in the tub with lots of hot water and tea to make them old looking I then took some of the smaller pieces and rolled then and rubber banded those and left them to sit over night. My fabric looked great or bad you might say . I also took netting , cheese cloth and tea dyed that also .
Finally I sewed the dress then began to add draping and netting , then I began to ripe and tear fabric and netting adding and hand sewing .
I was happy with the effect and was surprised at how much work it was to make somthing new look old and worn.

3. What keywords describe your work?

My keywords would be texture, color, and vintage.

4. Is this your favorite medium? Do you work in other mediums?

Fabric and creating clothing and costumes is my passion I do not work in other media at this time.

5.What fascinates you?

I am fascinated by a lot of thing of course nature is very facinating to me I get a lot of ideas from nature the creatures and the colores.
I am also facinated by the past and the clothing from the past.

6.What are your social media sites?

Twitter: SSFDesigns

Leave a Reply

