Member Feature: BirdsOnATwig

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Please join us in welcoming Becky of BirdsOnATwig, our featured member!BirdsOnATwig

Tell us about yourself.       

Some of you may recognize me as “Lolly” from LollysCubbyHole on Etsy.  That is how my journey with Etsy began.

I decided after 2 years into my shop that although I started strictly as a Vintage shop, my love for sewing and creating had taken on it’s own life.

I then began the moving process into BirdsOnATwig.  I packed up the pre-loved items, mostly from my childhood or family collections and lovingly gave them a new home.

BirdsOnATwig1

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

Just about a year ago, I opened the doors to BirdsOnATwig, January 3, 2014.

I felt my Vintage was getting a big dusty and forgotten in my other shop, which had become more of a burlap/wedding/home decor business.

BirdsOnATwig2

Tell us a bit about your products.           

90% of BirdsOnATwig came from my childhood collections or from my Grandmother’s basement!

I do attend estate sales , antique shops attic hunts… and I have been fortunate enough to receive some wonderful items from family and friends wanting to place their cherished items somewhere other than a thrift store.

I offer items that I believe are worthy of sale.  I try not to list anything that is cracked ( with Vintage you REALLY have to look carefully) or marred other than age appropriate wear.

BirdsOnATwig3

What inspires your work?           

Nostalgia.

I remember so much of growing up in a small town, the fun of looking through my grandmother’s trunks and visiting my Great-Grandparents home where everything now would be over 100 years old!

BirdsOnATwig4

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business?         

I would like to build on BirdsOnATwig, expanding and possibly have VINTAGE as a section.
When sewing for Brides in my other shop, I sometimes let this shop lay idyll.

I have some new ideas brewing on the back burner!

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

I am not sure I stand out at this point, however, I do know that I am honest about the origin of my shop listings, I take pride in my shipping and packing and am good at communicating with potential buyers.

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

I share my studio with my other shop, LollysCubbyHole!

It is a nice big space over my garage, with shelves and shelves of space, not to mention cutting and sewing tables.

The best part is that it overlooks my 20 acres and a pond filled with birds, turtles and geese!

BirdsOnATwig5

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known beforehand?

Being that I have two shops, one being handmade, I am partial to creations that begin in the heart.

You dream a little dream and then let your heart and hands go to work!

BirdsOnATwig6

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

That success is not an overnight thing.

Some things work for you and others do not. Be wise in listening to advice from seasoned, SUCCESSFUL, shop owners.

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?        

My husband and I love to travel, and we have kids and parents spread far and wide.

My hobbies have been what I offer in my shops, handmade , crafts, antiques and vintage.

I love a good book but seem to never find the time since Etsy. I have to learn the art of prioritizing!

What is your favorite quote?        

This is ONE of my favorite quotes:

“There is a garden in every childhood, an enchanted place where colors are brighter, the air softer, and the morning more fragrant than ever again.”

~Elizabeth Lawrence

________

If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

3 thoughts on “Member Feature: BirdsOnATwig

  1. Congrats Becky/Lolly! I enjoyed reading your thoughtful comments. Good luck with the new shop. Thanks Michelle for the post. I don’t know where you find the time to do all that you do…

    Like

Leave a Reply

