Valentine’s Day “Sweet” Treats

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFindings

Valentine’s Day is almost upon us and what does one think of but sweet decadent treats. Chocolate, flowers, romance, hearts and dinner for two!

I asked CIJ team members to show me their treats!

Elizabeth Welburn of ElizabethLovesGlass told me:

I think paper ephemera would be considered a true “vintage collectible”.
These cards are from the 1960’s and have Hallmark Canada markings on the back.
I found them in my grandmother’s belongings – she actually had a lot of unused cards and I guess she picked them up “just in case.”
The cards are fairly heavy paper. In my mind, the strangest one is a Valentine’s ‘wallet’. It’s intended to hold cash. I would not think to give money on Valentine’s day, but hey, you could put a handmade gift certificate in this wallet if you wanted. And the design is very pretty and retro.

il_170x135.494624646_alk3

Myrna Neal of ShopOfCraftsByMyrna says:

I love hearts. That is and has always been an expression of love. I make hearts and send them anywhere from anyone with a message that they want to send…..or….I send the heart to the person and they give or send the heart themselves. Love is in the air!

il_170x135.442071670_mmm9

Marjorie Scenna of mscenna states:

I love vintage and holiday inspired vintage items are wonderful and make great gifts for any occasion! These Valentine inspired earrings were created from a mix of vintage beads that I received from a friend. The glass roses reminded me of Valentine’s Day and then when I discovered the silver hearts, I thought they made a perfect pairing! Vintage Valentine’s Day with a new touch!

il_170x135.429031883_izr6

Kristen Sargent of KestrelCollection explains:

I wanted to provide an affordable but totally awesome gift ready to give so I created the Valentine Everlasting Rose Earrings. I will ship each order with chocolate, a card and gift wrap it all so Valentines’ Day can be special and not stressful.

il_170x135.712328448_bs12

Ifigeneia tsiltikli of fifirixtra told me:

This is a costume vintage item that i specially made for my Aikido teacher!
He has a lovely family with 2 girls very elegant! I wanted to make something for him that he could put it at his home and i got it! i think the lace with the tulle made it really vintage and the off white felt colored it with cocoa to give a more vintage result!

il_170x135.707154155_gcio

Adonis Lewis of jewelrybyadonis let me know:

My inspirations are these sweet soft pastel hearts. They’re so quietly stated with beauty. I wanted to do something special with them and show them off. So I created this wire wrapped bracelet in pink and gold. They are perfect for a Valentine sweetheart.

il_170x135.601771137_tpwz

Noel of MinkCouture said:

I love participating in A Month of Letters-every day in February, write a letter and mail one and get some mail back in return. This pin was inspired by that and the notion of love letters. Made from an old sweater, some vintage die cuts and images from a vintage postcard, this sweet little pin reminds us all that we wish out letters had wings to get to our loved ones faster!

il_170x135.709702407_stdg

Lia Russo of Ghirlandiamo states:

For me Valentine’s Day = heart, so when I saw that heart shape basis, I immediately imagined to put on it some other little ones, of different natural materials (wicker, bark, wood, cotton).

A so romantic and sweet item!

il_170x135.535371176_g24b

Valerie Brown of FirepanJewellery says:

I love red, and I love Valentine’s day! When I saw the gorgeous reds that you can have in enamel, I knew I had to make hearts! I wanted a different take on the traditional heart, though, so I designed a heart that is a little off center and funky. The heart pendants are sweet because they are one of a kind, so you are giving a very individual gift to your sweetheart.

il_170x135.552043442_kwq9

Wendy WN of WoodNotions tells me:

I dressed up my little heart ornaments with rose pink ribbon to say “I give my heart to you!”
The lacy heart was inspired by a stained glass design. Combining the two classic designs, somehow created a fresh and cheerful look.

il_170x135.609513216_ijod

Arlene of ThisandThatCrafter explains:

Here is a supply I sell… My inspiration is the challenge any ribbon has in getting a creative picture of that ribbon. Any ribbon is a challenge to get a creative picture of so I decided to take the ribbon and write a word. Since this is pink ribbon and Valentines is just around the corner I decided on the word Love. Love is a sweet word for the Valentine Holiday Season….

il_170x135.712885220_78mj

Utary of Oyeta stated:

I love roses and red roses always reminds me of valentine days. Lately I’ve been so in love with vampire love story and this red roses in black clutch I create represent the darkness, the forbidden love, the broken heart and all that sad times when we love someone. No matter how dark it is, the red roses will remind you that love is still exist, to give you strength, power and hope

il_170x135.716001906_qc4u

Catherine Clifford of DesignsByCnC says:

I have always enjoyed both giving Valentine cards, as well as receiving them. When I was a young child I liked to make frilly and colorful Valentine cards for my family and friends.

il_170x135.709871351_nlxm

Jo Ann’s Angels of JoAnnsAngels states:

Red customarily symbolizes red and Valentines Day. I love that these angels are fitting for country/rustic tastes to more contemporary. Angels are so special and fitting for every occasion. It’s a great feeling to know angels are watching over those that we love.

il_170x135.710405953_k6g4

Sue and Misty of shabbyshopgirls explained:

We love vintage hankies, so every year my mom, sister and I exchange a vintage Valentine hankie with each other! It’s made for a wonderful tradition to show how much we appreciate each other and family!

il_170x135.711159503_rcdm

Sherri of ButterflyFeetDigital said:

I made this card for my husband a few years ago and then put the printable up for sale in my shop. It’s sweet, but not cute as in for kids, so it’s a perfect grown up valentine.

il_170x135.212083113

Patricia and Rebecca of northandsouthshabby tells me:

The heart shaped bowls of these spoons, called to us at an estate sale. Once home and polished were discovered they were actually straw spoons! We think they would be perfect for the romantic at heart who love to set a pretty Valentine’s Day Table!

il_170x135.710843599_d8ev

Amy Spock of BeadsandThreadsbyAmy says:

We created these as a fundraiser for our local animal shelter, where we have adopted a wonderful cat and dog over the last year. They turned out so well, that we decided to list them in our Etsy shop, too!

il_170x135.708077924_raqm

Kelly of ColourscapeStudios explained:

I created this print as a simple yet heartfelt way to describe the love people have for one another. My inspiration as always is my family, love lives here in our home and I want to share that warmth with everyone else!

il_170x135.682639646_eguc

Nancy Duncan of EponasCrystals said:

Wild Heart Earrings are hand stamped brass and reversible! You can turn the hooks around and get two completely different looks.Sweet! Perfect for Valentine’s Day for your sweetest!

il_170x135.716339849_hsz1

Sarah Johnson of BellaBoutique23 told me:

One of my favorite gifts from my husband for Valentine’s Day was a coupon book, it is such a fun, romantic gift so I made this Valentine Scrapbook Mini Album that has love coupons that can inspire some romantic gestures.
Besides the photo spots there are places to journal, to write poetry or love notes in this album and a secret note can slip into the front of the album. I really enjoy sweet love notes and that was another inspiration in this album.

il_170x135.704163148_nn9l

candy frizzell of TrueEarthDesigns states:

My inspiration for this piece was the color for Valentines Day. I also love the way the coral was cut into petals. Bamboo Coral is an organic gemstone with small lines and grooves.

il_170x135.718785696_ui6w

Desert Dabbler of DesertDabbler tells me:

I love red dresses, Swarovski crystals, and going out with my special Valentine, my husband of many years. This was the inspiration for me to make this red and crystal bracelet.

il_170x135.719112147_6xry

This Valentine’s Day why don’t you celebrate your love to your special someone(or your mother, brother, etc.) by giving them one of these special “Sweets”

3 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day “Sweet” Treats

Leave a Reply

