Member Feature: RitzyandGlitzy

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Please join us in welcoming Patricia of RitzyandGlitzy, our featured member!

RitzyandGlitzy

Tell us about yourself.       

I am a Jersey girl. Actually, a Jersey Grandma, who loves designing and creating jewelry. I have always enjoyed expressing my creative side whether it be through ceramics, needlepoint, cross stitch or jewelry making. I stuck with jewelry since I love it so and opened an Etsy shop to share my creations with others.

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I opened my business in April of 2013. After working in an office for many years, I felt suppressed. I needed to create and I wanted to have my own business. Where better than Etsy?!

Tell us a bit about your products.           

I am a perfectionist, so every piece I create has to be just right before I ship it to my customer. I like to have something for everyone, so I do have a variety of styles in my shop. I love using genuine gemstones, Swarovski crystals and pearls, silver, gold and sometimes bone, seeds, leather and wood. I love customer orders!RitzyandGlitzy2

What inspires your work?           

When I see beads or gemstones that I love, I just HAVE to make something with them. When I order online, I cannot wait until the beads are delivered. The freedom of owning my own business and being able to create is another big inspiration for me.

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business?         

I would like to include more items for men. I would also like to spend more of my time creating my pieces instead of promoting them. I hope that one day I won’t have to promote much at all and I can spend my time doing what I love.

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

I think the fact that I have a large variety of styles from kids to boho to weddings and so on. I have something for every age group.RitzyandGlitzy3

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

Studio? I wish. I have a small office and I do everything there. I design, create, photograph and promote. Sometimes I use the outdoors for photos. Everything in my office is in order and neatly organized or I’d never find anything.

Where can people find out more about you and your business?

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Ritzy-and-Glitzy/124947854382278
Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/ritzyandglitzy
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ritzyandglitzy

Why do you believe people should buy handmade, such as your products, vs. buying mass-produced products from box stores?

Oh God, handmade is so much nicer. The designs are original and very well made. Some of the materials used won’t be found in stores.RitzyandGlitzy4

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known beforehand?

Great pictures! I wish I had known how to get those great pics when I first started.

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

Again, great pictures! Also, the importance of teams and social media.

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?        

I spend most of my time working, so when I’m not, it’s total chill. It’s the boob tube for me. I love the reality shows and good movie now and then.

What is your favourite quote?        

You teach people how to treat you. – Dr. Phil McGraw

Is there anything else you’d like to share?        

Quitters never win and winners never quit. Hang in there.RitzyandGlitzy5

________
If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

Leave a Reply

