Treasury Challenge Winner October – timetalentjewels

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFindings

On Etsy many shop owners curate treasuries. A treasury is a curated shop gallery comprised  of 16 items from any shop.  Most of the time they are done by theme, color or anything you can imagine.

The Christmas in July team has challenges to create treasuries centered on themes of our choosing. We then pick a winner based on views, creativity and the like.

The October winner is timetalentjewels who loves wire crochet,felted creations and so many more craft creations.

What made you decide to start an Etsy Shop?

One day while visiting with a friend at Panera, we were talking about all my jewelry I make and the things I knit and she suggested that I try Etsy. She thought I would do well. At that time I specialized in Kumihimo (the Japanese Art of Beading and Braiding at the same time) Bracelets and Necklaces. She just thought that would be the way to go, to get me out there and to be seen. And so this is how my little shop “Timetalentjewels” came about. The name has always been interesting to me as I have lots of “time” since I am retired, I have lots of “talent” to share and my treasures are my “jewels”. And so on July 8, 2012 my little Etsy shop became a reality.

il_570xN.542866252_dgq5

How did you get into Wire crochet and felting?

I had taken a class here in Springfield on Wire Crochet and at first I wasn’t fond of it but like anything I find it was challenging and then before you knew it, I love it. My biggest thing I like about Wire Crochet is shopping for the right beads. I love color and I feel you can see that in my necklaces. It takes time shopping for beads, finding the right ones, seeing what goes good with a particular bead. Sometime you can have one certain bead and from that bead pull out all the other colors from just one bead. I lot of people tell me I have a gift when it comes to choosing colors. I feel it comes naturally. Either it POPS or it doesn’t.

We have a local Bead Store in Springfield, LaBead Oh, and sometimes I travel to St. Louis to Lady Bug Bead. I love to go to Trunk Shows and this is where I can pick up some unusual and interesting types of beads. There are so many fascinating beads to be found. My most interesting travels this year was to a bead store in Minneapolis, MN and there I found a bead that no one else has had. Of course, you can ask about it but they never get them in or have them available. I just keep looking and hoping that I see them again.

The most fun is naming the necklaces when they are finished. I love music and as you can see some of my necklaces have some very interesting titles.

Knitting and Felting is a wonderful process. I have knitted for many years and when visiting our daughter in Minneapolis, Minnesota, years ago, we visited a knitting store called “Depth of Field Yarn” and this is where I got my first taste of felting. I found it to be an interesting process. There were so many beautiful items that could be felted. So my first venture of trying to felt was to knit a hat and then felt it. Knitting was a breeze but the felting process was to be done very carefully as too much felting could cause the hat to be too small. So you have to watch how many times you wash this item in the washing machine in the hot sudsy water. The first time was very tricky for me. Granted the hat came out a tad too small. Well, that was my challenge to make another and get it right. So I did and have made many others. From there I went onto purses and the more fancy ones with the flowers the hand clutch bags that are unlined. Hot Pads have made their debut, whether they are solid, stripe or variegated, they have been a hit. All my items are colorful, as I love color.

il_570xN.605748511_qbu5

What do you love most about the Holidays?

The holidays, a time when it brings most families together, in our family we have them traveling from Minnesota, Missouri, Iowa and Kentucky and they all come to my house from Thanksgiving Dinner. Of course, they all have a plan of what they are shopping/hunting for (now the evening after vs. Black Friday). It’s a grand celebration! And this year we have an extra little person at our table, our new little grandson (Raymond Matthew). A busy weekend of visiting and catching up with my sisters and their families, shopping, eating out and/or taking in a movie, it is a great celebration! Of course, then there is Christmas, decorating the tree and baking those special treats. Planning Christmas Eve who’s coming and who is not and the same goes Christmas Day. Who travels back for Christmas and the celebration begins again! Enjoying each other’s company. A very special time of year!

il_570xN.552162386_f38l

What are you doing for Black Friday, etc. in your shop?

I have had sales off and on all year and nothing ever happens. So I feel everything that is in the shop is pretty much reasonable priced and it will probably ride the wave just as it did last year.

What advice do you have for new shop owners?

For new shop owners, I believe they should take really good pictures – Pictures are worth a thousand words! Give good descriptions too.

If you are involved on teams, work with the teams. The more you do the more you are noticed. Get involved, promote.

Also get to know some of the people on the teams, they are full of knowledge and can be very helpful if you get stuck.

il_570xN.662650581_7nbd

What are you social media links?

Twitter: twitter.com/tkleh4853
Facebook: facebook.com/hafel.karen
Shop Website: www.etsy.com/shop/timetalentjewels

This shop has amazingly colorful wire crochet and felted works! Come and check these beauties out!

Leave a Reply

