#CIJCookieExchange – Peanut Butter And Honey Dog Cookies (For Your Furry Friends)

Contributor post by Megha of byTheArtBug

Let’s make Peanut Butter & Honey Dog Cookies (For Your Furry Friends) with Nautico Creations from NauticoCreations

1. What is your recipe?

Okay, you did say to be creative, so I hope this recipe counts. I was going to post my grandma’s sausage cookies (rolled like sausage – no meat in them). I love them and went as far as buying the almonds but never had time to make them (other family members usually do). Thus no photos to give you. What I am making is Peanut Butter DOG COOKIES and do have photos of those, so here goes. I hope there are some dog lovers out there that will enjoy the recipe.
I’m not too good at following recipes. I always figure let’s substitute this or that. And dogs love most whatever you cook, so I’ve taken a couple of recipes, made some substitutions and here it is. They are dog tested and approved by my two lovely dogs.d (640x478)

Peanut Butter & Honey Dog Cookies (For your Furry Friends)

2 cups flour (can use 1 cup whole wheat and one regular)
1 cup rolled oats
2 Tablespoons milled flax seed
1 Tablespoon baking powder
1/2 cup peanut butter
1 squirt of honey (sorry, never measured)
1 cup hot water

Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Mix dry ingredients in large bowl.d1 (640x478)

In second bowl combine peanut butter, honey and hot water and stir until blended. Add mixture to dry ingredients and stir until blended. Roll out and use your favorite cookie cutters. I have a dog bone shaped cookie cutter and use the top off of a martini shaker for some bite size ones (what can I say? It’s the perfect size).d3 (478x640)

Cut and place on un greased cookie sheet. For the round ones, make criss cross with fork to look like regular peanut butter cookies.d4 (640x478)

Place in oven for 20 minutes. You can tell the are done when the bottoms are light to medium brown. Turn off oven and leave them in overnight to cool.d5 (640x478)

Serve to your dogs who have been patiently watching, waiting and smelling the yummy goodness.d6 (640x478)

2. What is it about this recipe that you love?

I love this recipe because it’s a healthy treat for dogs. If you look at the ingredients on store bought cookies, there are plenty of preservatives and other ingredients that you can’t pronounce. It also lets me experience the pleasure of baking without having a bunch of human cookies around to eat.

3. How did you learn to make this cookie?

I learned how to make these by trial and error. Last year I made them without the flax seed, oats or honey and used the two kinds of flour. This year, I think the extra ingredients make them even better. When I roll these out, I use my mom’s old wooden rolling pin and it reminds me of when I was growing up. Instead of having a bunch of kids waiting to gobble the cookies up, I have my dogs waiting instead.

4. Please share a story or memory to go along with the cookie.

Many times throughout the years, when our family opens gifts, I have had a gift for all of the dogs in the extended family. Last year, I made homemade dog cookies for all of the dogs I know, including neighbor dogs, friends dogs and family dogs. I like that they are being remembered too because we are all so busy and distracted getting ready for the holidays.
These really make a nice treat to share. All year, these dogs are either making me smile or taking care of my family and friends. I think it’s nice to give them a Christmas present too. From tiny Terriers to Great Danes, these cookies are a hit.

5. What are your social media sites?

Etsy is it on a business level for social media. I have twitter but am still trying to figure it out. I’ve got personal Facebook and Pinterest pages, but haven’t created either one yet for NauticoCreations.

Santa Ornaments - Set of Nine From NauticoCreations

Santa Ornaments – Set of Nine From NauticoCreations

2 thoughts on “#CIJCookieExchange – Peanut Butter And Honey Dog Cookies (For Your Furry Friends)

  1. Pingback: Memories Of A Lifetime – #CIJCookieExchange | EtsyChristmasInJuly

Leave a Reply

