Treasury Challenge Winner September – pasqueflower

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFindings

On Etsy many shop owners curate treasuries. A treasury is a curated shop gallery comprised  of 16 items from any shop.  Most of the time they are done by theme, color or anything you can imagine.

The Christmas in July team has challenges to create treasuries centered on themes of our choosing. We then pick a winner based on views, creativity and the like.

The September winner is pasqueflower who loves sewing, home and family decorations and so much more.

What made you start a shop on Etsy?

The Recession. With a mandatory 30-day unpaid furlough looming on my horizon in February of 2011, I decided to spend that down time setting up an Etsy shop. I love to sew and I love new challenges, and I am SO grateful to have the supplemental income my little Etsy shop provides.

il_170x135.671564751_8c7o

What is your favorite fall thing to do?

When my kids were little, we always enjoyed trips to the pumpkin patch and apple orchards. Now I enjoy taking walks on cool fall days, and enjoying all the beautiful colors of fall foliage.

il_170x135.668871779_176z

What one thing has been the hardest about running your shop?

Photography! I am rarely happy with my listing photos.

How did you overcome the thing in #3?

Although I still have a LOT to learn about photography, I have taken advantage of free resources on Etsy with photo tips. I also took a photography class at our local community college, and I recently invested in a better camera. I’ve learned a lot about editing and cropping to compensate in part for my lackluster photography skills

il_170x135.346692407

Do you like Halloween? Do you do anything special for it?

I do like Halloween!! I especially enjoy seeing the little trick-or-treaters come to the door in their cute costumes. I also enjoy making fun things for Halloween to sell at local craft fairs – whimsical stuffed witches, buntings, and finger puppets. I’m also making a BIG batch of finger puppets to hand out at our office trick-or-treat day, when coworkers and students bring their children and grandchildren to work to trick-or-treat.

This shop is filled with lovely fabric goodies and I am sure you will find something you will love!

One thought on “Treasury Challenge Winner September – pasqueflower

Leave a Reply

