Member Feature: Girlie Gals

Contributor post by Anna of Unexpected Treasure

Please join us in welcoming Linda Baze of Girlie Gals, our featured member!

Tell us about yourself.       

I’m a Grandma/Gammy in South Texas. I started making jewelry a few years ago mainly for myself, family and friends. Then I discovered the large hole European style beads and went crazy. I was having so much fun with all the different styles, colors and of course beads, beads, beads; I even got my daughter hooked on it too.

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I started making jewelry a few years ago mainly for myself, family and friends. Then I discovered the large hole European style beads and went crazy. I was having so much fun with all the different styles, colors and of course beads, beads, beads; I even got my daughter hooked on it too.  Girlie Gals here on Etsy was started on August 1, 2011.

Tell us a bit about your products.          

Handmade jewelry using Swarovski crystals, large hole beads, seashells, wood, wire wrapping and still learning more.

What inspires your work?           

Being from South Texas and living near the Gulf of Mexico, I naturally turn to nature for a lot of inspiration – that’s where my Beach Collection was conceived. The seashells, corals and more are a joy to work with. After becoming a member of the Hill Country Bead Society and the South Texas Beaders. I have enjoyed learning new techniques and styles with a varied assortment of materials. It’s great to expand your horizons and I love what I do.

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

My “studio” is part of my office I share with my husband.  It’s getting quite crowded now and I’m always looking for great organizing tips.

Where can people find out more about you and your business?

Etsy site:  GirlieGals

Facebook page:  GirliesGals

Why do you believe people should buy handmade, such as your products, vs. buying mass-produced products from box stores?

I think people are looking for something unique and different from the items seen in all the department and jewelry stores.  I personally have always enjoyed receiving something handmade. It’s a gift that comes from the heart.  A machine cannot reproduce that.

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

Patience and Perseverance

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?        

I have fun with my friends at craft meetings and shopping trips.  Love learning new skills.

________
If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

One thought on “Member Feature: Girlie Gals

Leave a Reply

